All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Sleep

Posted by Susan on January 17, 2009

I worked night shift for 8 years. Since then I have had occasional bouts of insomnia. There was on time it lasted 3 entire days, and I am talking NO SLEEP ! Nothing at all. Wide awake all day and all night. It was terrible. I went to work the entire time. Although I felt almost hung over each day. In a haze, light headed. It was horrible.

I’ve had nothing quite that bad since then, but I still suffer with a bad night here and there, and with my schedual, it makes for a really hard work day. I did a lot of research over the years and came up with my own routine that seems to help me. I thought I would share it.

First off, I try very hard to keep my sleep/wake schedual as consistent as possible. On weekends it as not as easy, but I try to make sure that I go to bed at a decent hour and get up at a decent hour. I try to do the same things every night to prepare my body for sleep. I usually eat a snack, and then have a cup of peppermint camamile tea with a bit of honey in it. I usually get into bed around 7:30pm to read before sleep. I find that the reading clears my mind. I have DVR and tape my shows during the week to watch on weekends , that was another good investment toward sleep, no staying up to late to watch my shows. I find that daily exercise had helped my sleep tremendously, and eating well helps too. I end up with acid reflux when I eat too much fat or sugar during the day and that interrupts my sleep. Another thing I find helpful is to make sure I have everything set for the next day….I make the lunches, clean the kitchen, have clothes ready, the animals all taken care of, all my chores I get done before going to bed. I find that it makes me feel DONE , and that helps me relax.

Insomnia is the worst. But I think getting yourself into a routine that lets your body know it is time to rest definately helps. After a few weeks the body recognizes the routine and sleep comes easier, it works for me anyway.
Leave a Reply

 
