All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

The Joys of Calorie Counting

Posted by Susan on February 18, 2009


I made a commitment to myself to get serious with dieting. I began recording all of my food and calories……and it is eye opening ! I have definately been over doing things both in terms of portions and calories. Because I am counting calories I am forced to measure out my food and pay closer attention. there was a time when I did this all the time when I first started , but have since gotten lazy….but now I am back.

It is amazing how knowing that you have to write down the food and look up the actual calories of the food makes you think twice about putting something in your mouth. There were Twizzlers today in the breakroom. there was also some chocolate. I figured the Twizzlers were a better choice since it says “Fat Free Food” in huge letters in the package. I looked at the calories and it said 150 calories for 4 pieces…I did the math for what one piece would be…..38 calories…….that seemed a lot for something that I didn’t really love….so I skipped it.

I did really well today, I snuck a peek at the scale already, I know I shouldn’t have especially in the middle of the day but anyway…………I am down 1lb. so I am super happy! I am so glad that I’ve finally stopped messing around and made the choice to get serious. I do NOT want the summer creeping up on me yet again and asking myself what the hell have I been doing for the first half of the year ! I even carry my calorie notebook and calorie book with me in my lunch bag, just so I have no excuse not to record something.

Tomorrow I am getting up to do 20 min. HIIT on the treadmill. And I am going to bed very soon so I can get in at least 7-8 hours of sleep tonight. I find that going to bed early stops me from giving in to the night time munchies. I am so releived to be back on my normal schedual and to be back in the diet game for real !

Leave a Reply

 
