All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Saturday Morning Weigh In !

Posted by Susan on February 21, 2009

Today was my first weigh in since February 1st. I could tell by how my clothes fit and how I felt in general that I had made progress. I got up early, peed of course, stripped and hopped on the scale. This is what I found :

Feb. 1st: Weight: 171.4

Fat %: 39.0%

BMI: 25.5

Feb 21: (this morning) Weight: 168.2

Fat %: 38.6

BMI : 25

Needless to say I am extremely happy ! I owe this week’s progress to COUNTING MY CALORIES ! Yes I know, time consuming, sometimes just a pain the the butt ………but at the end of the day….(week actually) it makes a huge difference! I was telling a friend about my new (not so new, but I just got too lazy to do it) weight loss tool and before I even finished my sentence she shot me down. she told me that with 2 kids, and working , and just life in general she has no time for that nonsense ! I felt like saying , then stop complaining ! Because if you don’t write down everything that passes through your lips, and look up the calories for the actual amount your eating, you are decieving yourself. But I didn’t bother with the whole rant……..people who believe they don’t have time for exercise, for reading food lables, for tracking food and calories, are just not ready to lose the weight. It takes time, it takes work, it takes sacrifice, and it is at times frustrating. But on mornings like this morning it is SOOOOOO worth it !

Now , it is the weekend……the hardest part of the week for me. At work there are distractions that keep me from eating, at home…..not so much. The trick will be to keep busy, and to track….because when I have to write it all down and look at what I am consuming it makes me think twice. I have some plans today, a family social thing to attend…there isn’t supposed to be a meal served but I am sure snacks will be around, I need to make sure I eat lunch before we go and bring a bottle of water with me. I am determined to get through this weekend unscathed !!!!!

Another thing I find helpful when trying to stick to a weight loss program, it to tell people you are dieting. I find I monitor what I am eating more….because I feel like …ok I just told them I was dieting, and now I am shoveling cake in my mouth like it’s my job……………..it makes me feel more accountable for my food choices and it also makes me feel like others, being aware of my goals ,are watching what I am eating (but in most cases no one really cares, they forget about it right after you say it). It is just a little mind trick I play with myself that helps me stay on track. It may be nutty but it works for me !

Anyway, I am really happy about the weeks progress, I wasn’t even able to exercise as much as I wanted to due to a change in my work schedual , so I can’t wait to see what happens next week when I am back in my regular routine ! Wish me luck for this weekend ! Keep on tracking!!

One Response to “Saturday Morning Weigh In !”

  1. Jacey said

    Great job, Susan! Are you familiar with another blog called “Jen’s Journey?” I have a link to it from my blog – just called “jen.” She has lost 69 lbs over the last two years and she did by food journaling and working out. So food journaling and counting calories definitely works. I need to work on this myself.

    Good luck and keep up the good work! As for the naysayers – yeah – they need to just be quiet…

Leave a Reply

 
