All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Things I can not live without…….on this journey.

Posted by Susan on March 8, 2009

There are so many things that contribute to the 11 pounds I have lost this past month. I decided to make a list of some of them :

1. The constant love and support of my always tolerent husband (love you)

2. My trusty notebook, calorie counter book, and my calculator, I would be eating too much without those three items.

3.My HUGE water bottle. It holds 8 glasses of water , and I drink 2 of them a day

4. My I-pod shuffle, I can’t do cardio without music.

5. 100 calorie snacks………a lot of people don’t agree, but I NEED something sweet now and then and this is the safest way for me to have my sweet without throwing off my calorie count for the entire day.

6. 8 hours of sleep. I go to bed early, and wake up early. Every night, even weekends (unless something is planned and makes it impossible)

7. AM workouts. I work very early in the morning so I have to get up extremely early to workout. I do this because if I wait until after work I will never do it !

8. My little home gym. Over the years, I have tried sooooo many fitness programs. I’ve bought equipment, weights, bands, all kinds of things. When we bought this house I snagged an extra bedroom and made it into a little gym. If I couldn’t roll out of bed and walk downstairs to workout in the mornings I am not sure I would workout at all !

9. Breakfast. It is my favorite meal of the day, and I eat the same thing every day and love it. Egg whites (I buy them in little cartons, like Eggbeaters), with 1/4 cup of low fat cheese, and oatmeal….

10. My job. I am lucky enough to have a very physical job. I literally run all day for 7 therapists, doing all their filing, faxing, bringing patients to and from their therapy sessions……and a ton of other thing. I do complain about it sometimes, but I should be grateful that I don’t have to sit at a desk all day….it doesn’t help the weight battle.

11. Blogs. I get so much out of the blogs I read regularly. Inspiration. Motivation. It is so great to know that others understand the struggles, especially when when you don’t have a lot of friends who get it !

12. The Internet. There are so many resourses available . You can find the answers to so many diet and nutrician questions. It is a excellent tool.

13. Green tea. I love this stuff. It takes the edge off my hunger and it has saved me many times from eating when I thought I was hungry.

14. Small plates. I serve myself all my meals on small plates. It makes me feel like I am eating a full plate of food, when I am actually not…..dinner plates are massive, and if I were to fill one with food it would be a days worth of calories………it is all an optical illusion….but it works for me.

15. Old pictures of myself. One especially…it is from Christmas 2004, and I am huge. I remember when I first saw it…. I was heartbroken. I keep it on my fridge as a reminder of where I never want to be again.

16. My blog. It keeps me accountable, gives me a place to rant, to celebrate victories, it helps me stay on track, I am not sure anyone really reads it , but it is ultimately for me anyway.

One Response to “Things I can not live without…….on this journey.”

  1. erin said

    This is a great list! I do a lot of these as well. I’m a big fan of counting calories and morning workouts and small plates. We hardly ever eat on dinner plates anymore! Thanks for stopping by my blog. It’s so cool we share a wedding date!

Leave a Reply

 
