All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

I’m Back !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by Susan on April 1, 2009

Finally!!!!!!!!!!!!! I got back on the the treadmill for the first time in 3 weeks! Ever since my knee injury I’ve been terrified of it ! (Although in the end I found that it only agrivated my knee………weighted lunges turned out to be the reason for the injusry). Today I decided after my TT circuits I would do my 20 min. HIIT on the treadmill. No pain, no swelling, no nothing ! I am sooooooo happy ! I feel so much better now knowing I am fine and can continue my treadmill training.

The next half of this post is a bit of a rant ….so be forewarned !

Sometimes at work patients and their families give us goodies as a thank you for getting them back on their feet ( work in a Rehabilitation Center). Today someone gave us a beautiful tray of brownies as thanks for our help. We are all sitting at the lunch table and one of the girls brings out the tray and puts it in the middle of the table. A few minutes later one of my co-workers comes in and sits down, then gets right back up , picks up the tray and starts walking out of the room. Someone said, Hey where are you going with those? The co-worker continues walking out of the room telling us all that the brownies are a trigger for her and she can’t have them in her sight, and how inconsiderate we all are for putting them out like that when we all know she is dieting to get into her wedding dress. I think my mouth hit the table! I was in shock ! Yes ,I have taken MYSELF out of situations where tempation was too great for me, but I’ve never ever considered it anyone else’s responsibility but my own !

This is the same woman who spent a ton of money on these sneaker that are supposed to exercise her legs, who eats hot sause on everything (including KFC) because it is supposed to burn fat, who downs energy drinks constantly, and takes every fat burner ever made like they are tic tacs ! ANYTHING to get out of doing the work !

I know I should feel sorry for her, because I know what it takes to get weight off, and I know that she is living in delusion-ville…..but in a way I feel almost insulted by it………..I feel like it diminishes the hard work I’ve put in, the sacrifices I’ve made, the struggles I’ve had and continue to have.

I kept my mouth shut today, even though I was dying to tell her off. I guess all I can do is feel thankful that I am ready, willing and able to get this job done and to keep it that way forever !

Ok, rant over……….sorry, I just had to let it out! Tomorrow will be a cardio day. I would love to do an outdoor walk after work but it looks like the weather isn’t going to cooperate…so it will be a session in the basement for me !


One Response to “I’m Back !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

  1. MackAttack said

    So, a question about your coworker, where was she going with the brownies? I mean, if they are a trigger, won’t YOU leave, and not take the trigger with you (even if it is to a trash can-raise your hand if you’ve grabbed food off a tray/plate before throwing away.) As a dieter, I find it so important not to let it get in the way of other people’s eating…how rude.

Leave a Reply

 
