All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Weekly Weigh In: I am a very Happy Gal !!!!

Posted by Susan on April 4, 2009

I was super nervous this morning to weigh in. I got up early, and started the laundry (stalling). I finally made my way to the scale, and guess what? I am 155.4 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am officially 10 lbs. away from my goal !!!!!!! I am filled with so many thoughts and emotions I can hardly express them ! I have not been this weight since some time in the mid 1990’s ! My original goal was 15o lbs. I decided to change it to 145lbs. Here are my official stats as of today;
Weight : 155.4 = ( – 3.4 lbs.)
Fat % : 35.5 = (- 1.5 %)
BMI : 23.1 = ( – .4 )
The most wonderful thing about this weight loss is that I am doing it without feeling totally deprived and unsatisfied. I track my calories, yes, but I eat things I like, I eat pretty much what I want, I just adjust portions. I look at the calories and and decided from there is the food is worth it in the taste and want department. I have been paying attention to what is hunger and what is actually something else. I spent the entire year last year trying to sustain what I call a ” bodybuilder diet”. Nothing but chicken breasts, sweet potatoes, brown rice, oatmeal, egg whites, and salad. I refused to eat anything “white”. Bread, sugar, reg. potatoes, pasta, OUT! Unfortunately for me it left me craving all the things I was not supposed to have. For me this lead to excellent food weekdays and crazy food fenzy on the weekend ! It was this crazy vicious circle and I was running around and around in circles getting nowhere fast !
I was also an exercise program junkie. I would here about one program , try it for a few weeks, then before I could see any real results I would jump to another, and another……again getting nowhere. I made the decision as part of my New Years Goals not to jump programs anymore. I had a few I was considering , and I decided to find one, commit to it, stick to it , and focus on it. I am so glad I found Turbulence Training and decided to make it my program of choice. It works perfectly in every way for me. It is simple (but hardly easy !), effective and time efficient. I also never get bored with this program because every 4 weeks it changes up and challenges you all over again. I am so happy I finally gave something a chance long enough to reap the benefits !!!!!
The light bulb moment for me this year was when I randomly found Prior Fat Girl’s blog. I found it from another person’s blog list. I stated reading her posts, her story, how she earned her sucess. Then I went back to her older posts and read those as well.
She made me look at exactly what I was trying to achieve. Did I want to be a figure competitor? No. Did I want to be a Trathelete? No. What exactly did I want? I wanted to be thin, healthy, I wanted to have muscle tone, I wanted to wear cute clothes again, I wanted to feel better, and I did not want to be deprived to the point that I felt compelled to binge.
That is when I decided revamp everything. I got a cute notebook and a pretty pen, a calculator, and a calorie count book. I looked online for a calorie deficit calculator, and I found out what range I needed to lose what I wanted to lose, and started tracking every single thing I put in my mouth, both how much I was eating and what the calories where. From there sucess was born. I was still eating egg whites and oatmeal for breakfast, but because I love it. I still try to keep my diet clean, eating whole grains, fruits and veggies, but I also allow myself a sweet here and there, or a crunchy snack once in a while. The thing that has changed is that horrible need to binge. Becuse I no longer deprive myself , I don’t feel that paniced ,”I’ll eat everything because I can never eat it again” mentality anymore. I am not expecting to never again binge, but the control I feel right now is empowering.
So these are somethings that brought me this far. I am so close to goal right now I can’t believe it ! It has been a long road, a bumpy road, and it still isn’t over. When I finally reach goal, I have to learn how to maintain it………I think that will be a major challenge !!!
For today I will be happy ! I am sooooooo close !!!!
2 Responses to “Weekly Weigh In: I am a very Happy Gal !!!!”

  1. Nancy said

    Susan, I am SO proud of you! No longer should you hear the encouragement, “you can do it”; What I say is “You ARE doing it!” Yay you! I’m glad you found what works best for you. When a person finds the program they are best suited for, the determination to apply to the healthy lifestyle and the right attitude = success! I was happy at weigh in today, too. i dropped 2#. I always close my eyes, say a prayer and then look at the scale! God took pity on me, I guess! 😉 I want to look into this turbulance training you do and the other blog that inspired you. Thanks for sharing your success, it’s a happy motivator for everyone!

  2. Craig Ballantyne, CSCS, MS said

    I am very proud of you too, keep up the great work and let me know how I can help!

    Craig

Leave a Reply

 
