All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Denial

Posted by Susan on April 7, 2009

Above is a picture of me and my niece, sometimes in 2004. I wasn’t at my all time highest weight in this picture, but I was well on my way.

The thing about not being overweight your whole life is, that it creeps up on you slowly. So slowly that you try to convince yourself that it isn’t really happening. I kept telling myself not to worry, I would lose it soon. But each day that passes you end up digging the weight gain hole deeper and deeper.

I was in total denial that I was fat. I don’t think that I realized just how fat until I tried on wedding dresses. In those mirrors in the dress shop there was no hiding the ugly truth. I was big…really big. As with all brides I wanted to look beautiful on my wedding day. What I saw in the mirror was not what I’d dreamt I’d look like.

It was the begining of this weight loss jounrney for me, even though I was unhappy with how I looked way before that day. I wanted to believe it wasn’t THAT bad. That one more day of eating whatever I wanted couldn’t hurt. I would begin again on tomorrow.

Unfortunately by the time all those tomorrows passed I was bigger than I’d ever bee in my life. I hope to never live in that kind of denial ever again in my life. To never let things get so out of hand. To stay mindful of what I eat and how much of it I eat. To never wait for tomorrow , or next week, or next month to take action.

2 Responses to “Denial”

  1. Nancy said

    Susan, great post! I like best the part where you have gotten past the denial part and are taking action. Woot!

  2. cutecynicalchubbygirl said

    Thanks for this post – there have definitely been far too many tomorrows in my life as well. I really enjoy reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

 
