All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Portion Control

Posted by Susan on April 14, 2009

I was always the queen of huge portions. If I went out to eat I always went for volume. Huge cheeseburgers served with a pile of french fries, massive plates of eggplant parm. with pasta. On top of that I would stuff down
dessert , hungry for it or not.

Lately I have been paying close attention to portion sizes. Because I am tracking everything that passes my lips, I need to weigh and measure foods to get an accurate calorie count. I am noticing that I am satisfied completely with less food and smaller portions. When I ate pasta I would have 1 cup. Last week I decided to see if I felt any difference satisfation-wise if I ate only 1/2 cup. I did it all week and felt nothing. I wasn’t more hungry after the meal, nor was I a few hours after the meal. I was fine.

I am starting to think that eventually there will come a time when I can eat just about anything , as long as I keep control over the portion. In the past year or so I have been noticing that my body rebells agains over eating anyway. I always suffer terrible bloating, an uncomfortable fullness that keeps me from sleeping, and a literal food hangover the next day that is hardly worth the slurge.

How would it be to be able to enjoy my food, eating one portion instead of numerous portions piled on to one plate? I think it would be not only liberating, but would allow me to live a much more comfortable existance. (ie. no more tummy aches!)

The biggest struggle I would have would be eating out. I , for some reason ,have this paniced ” better eat it while I can, because I will never get this chance again” mentality the minute the food is put in front of me. Right now I try to make healthier, low calorie, low fat, menu choices. But I have to be honest, I do not want to spend the rest of my life eating nothing but grilled chicken salads ! I want to enjoy rich, decadant foods once in a while, but I don’t want to over do it to the point of feeling sick !

I need to work on reminding myself that I don’t need to eat it all….I can take what’s not eaten home. I also have to listen to my body when it tells me I am full. I am so much into the mindset that I can’t waste it , or I don’t want it in the house because I do not want to eat it tomorrow. I just need to relax and not get so stressed and weird about it.

This is definately something I will need to work on. I plan on NEVER gaining back this weight. At the same time, I want to live my life and enjoy food…………..just not ridiculous amounts of it !!!! It is just not worth it , and just not necessary.

2 Responses to “Portion Control”

  1. Nancy said

    It sounds like you are getting things figured out and will be able to maintain easily once you get to your goal, which should be very soon!

  2. Christina Bailey said

    Portion control for me has always been my downfall. I tried the diet plates and such, but the idea gets tired really fast. One thing I discovered last month that is totally cool and helped me with daily portion control is Flavor Magic. I can’t find it in stores, so I buy it online since they offer free shipping. I get it at http://www.portioncontrol.net. I actually started using it for my husband and kids since it is so simple and tasty. I LOVE THEM. It’s really a nifty idea, and I recommend it if you like cooking at home but are struggling with eating right.

Leave a Reply

 
