All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Never the same again ………

Posted by Susan on April 23, 2009

As I get closer to my goal weight I have been thinking a lot about all the things that will never be the same. My life will be different . It has to be in order to maintain the weight . I will need to live differently than I have in the past. I will not be on a ” diet ” anymore , but will be trying to live ” normally ” . Normally , but with a twist.

I will never be able to look at food the same again. No more mindless eating , no more stuffing my face until I am so full I feel sick . No more eating out of boredom , or stress , or any other emotion I don’t want to deal with . Never going back to the binge mentality , because I know now it never really helps a situation , it may numb it temporarily , but whatever feeling I am trying to numb will be there regardless . I will always have to pick the healthier choice , I will always have to practice portion control , I will always have to eat mindfully .

I will always have to exercise . I will always have to make it a part of my life , even when the weight loss goal is met . I will never maintain the loss without it , so it is juat a fact of life for me . Thankfully I like working out for the most part .

Life after weight loss will still hold it’s challenges , and still have it’s slip ups I’m sure . But what I most want to make perfectly clear to myself is that it is not over when it is over. It is something I will have to get used to living with , and it is something I have to accept if I am going to maintain. I never ever want to go back to the woman I once was . It is so important to me not to allow that . I figure as long as I keep my eyes open , pay attention , and continue good habits , like exercise , eating healthy , and watching how much I eat , I can somehow pull it together and live my life as a non – fat person.

The thought of the next stage in this jouney scares me a little . The best I can hope for is that I’ve learned something from where I’ve been . One thing I know for sure , my life will never be the same again ………….. If I plan on maintaining what I’ve earned .

2 Responses to “Never the same again ………”

  1. syl said

    you have learned alot and you are a changed person, both mentally and physically. With this knowledge you will have all the success you dream of.
    I couldn’t of said it myself. I too am nearing my goal weight and although sometimes it scares me I am confident I have learned enough along the way to keep going.
    Good luck to you and congrats on your success so far!

  2. syl said

    I meant to say I couldn’t of said it better myself…I should maybe proof read first đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
