All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Sunday Hiking

Posted by Susan on April 27, 2009

Yesterday was absolutely beautiful outside so my husband and I decided to go for a hike at a local farm turned nature preserve a few miles down the road from our home .

I’ve always loved hiking. A few years ago I put together a little hiking club with some girls I worked with . Since that time I’ve had the hiking bug , but could never get anyone to go with me ( I am afraid to hike alone for some reason ). When I first met my husband we used to go hiking every Sunday morning and then we would go out to breakfast afterward . I always tease him about the fact that once we moved in together, the hiking ended and I always said that he just pretended to love hiking ot impress me , that he never really liked it . (Not really true , we got engaged a few months later , and once that happend I became consumed with wedding planning and hiking was not even a thought ! )
I was thrilled when he suggested a hike yesterday ! We had such a great time we decided to hike every Sunday from now on , trying different trails each time . After we decided to treat ourselves to breakfast out ! I am so happy about this ! It is a nice way to reconnect after a long work week , great exercise , and I love being outdoors !
We did about 3 miles and it was so beautiful ! Half the trail is in open fields, the other half was in the woods . There were bird watching stands here and there to look at birds without disturbing them . There was also a butterfly meadow ! I love butterflies , and will be coming back to this trail as soon as the meadow blooms later in the season . We took a ton of pictures . It was a perfect day as far as I am concerned ! I definately have the hiking bug again ! Big time !
Next weekend we are planning to visit another local trail called Lover’s Leap. I can hardly wait ! I even dug out my hiking boots ! Next time we are taking the pedometer so we can see how many miles we actually traveled .

This weekend was awaome ! I got so much done on Saturday , and Sunday I was reunited with a long lost love ! Hiking ! Going back to work this morning was tough. But I have next Sunday to look forward to !

One Response to “Sunday Hiking”

  1. syl said

    Congrats on having the courage to post your photos. You have come along way and should be proud of your accomplishments!
    Your photos are amazing, keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

 
