All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Don’t Over Think It !

Posted by Susan on May 6, 2009

I’ve been thinking a lot about motivation when it comes to working out . In many of the blogs I read , people find daily exercise routines a struggle . It is understandable when you consider the reality of it all . In order to keep up the body you are and have been working so hard to get , you have to commit to this lifestyle for life ! That sounds so daunting sometimes .
I have to honestly say that I do not love working out , but I do love how it makes me feel and what it does for my body and how it makes my body look . I think that my actual workout program that keeps me excited . I do a program called Turbulence Training and I love it ! It is fast paced , and time efficient and has totally changed the way I think about exercise . ( I plan a blog post on it tomorrow )
I also am in the habit of working out first thing in the morning . For me , it gets me in and out and done . I don’t have to worry about it for the rest of the day . I have my alarm on the other side of my bedroom so I have to get up in order to turn it off. Then I go straight into the bathroom where I have my clothes set out and waiting for me . I brush my teeth , get dressed and go straight downstairs to my exercise room and get to it . I am very fortunate to have a little mini gym in my basement. If I had to drap myself to the gym I am not sure how I would do it !
I have accumulated a lot of equipment over the years . I have a decent sized room downstairs that houses the equipment and my TV / DVD player . I workout while watching VH1 reality show crap , and it is one of my favorite times of the day . Of course at first I am a little sleepy , but after about 15 mins. I am warmed up and feel great .
I think the most important thing about working out is not to over think it . If your anything like me at all, you can think of enough excuses to not workout at all given enough time to do so. If I do it first thing , I don’t have time to think. At this point I feel like working out is just a habit. I wuldn’t start the day without brushing my teeth, I wouldn’t think of just skipping work for a few weeks , and I workout in one way or another everyday .
To me , this is a small price to pay . It is my insurance policy . I never , ever want to be a fat chick again . THAT is what I hated ! I will continue to do it for that reason alone !
2 Responses to “Don’t Over Think It !”

  1. Jen, a priorfatgirl said

    Bleck. Bleck at your words. Not because I disagree, but because they are true and yet I strill struggle to live them. I know I’m going to have to do this for the rest of my life, because I remember exactly what it feels like to be fat and I never want to go back there again. But I still struggle with how to enjoy it. I do it, haven’t stopped but I find myself hating it more and more. so Bleck.

    But thank you for writing it, I need to hear it over and over again!

  2. Heidi said

    Looking forward to your post tomorrow as I want to know what Turbulence Training is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
