All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Mother’s Day Hike and Lunch

Posted by Susan on May 11, 2009


Yesterday’s Mother’s Day adventure was a lot of fun . We ended up taking Matt’s mom to the same place we hiked a few weeks ago , Sunny Valley Nature Preserve . It is a pretty easy trek , and really beautiful . We took a few different trails and did them so they all intersected so that she could see as much of the place as possible . She loved the place and I am sure the company wasn’t too bad either ( wink , wink ) !

It turned out to be a pretty nice day . A bit chilly to start but once we got going it was comfortable . The Preserve is fuller and much greener than the last time Matt and I hiked it so it was almost like we were seeing it for the first time too .

It was nice to catch up and chat about things , something we don’t always have time to do . It was also nice to share with her something we enjoy so much . We hiked a little over 2 miles . Some spots were a little muddy , other spots were very muddy ! But it just added to the adventure of it all ! ( We warned her ahead of time to wear shoes she didn’t really care about , you never know what you will run into on the trails !)

After the hike we took her to one of our favorite places for lunch . They had a nice Mother’s Day Menu so there were a loy of choices . I had my usual Grilled Chicken Caesar , hold the cheese and crutons ….dressing on the side . I am still not confident enough to branch out and try to practice portion control with my favorite meals yet ! One day ! ( I hope )

All in all I think the day turned out well . I hope she enjoyed it as much as we did ! Later that afternoon , I was thinking about my Mom and how much I wished she was still with us .Matt and I were on our way to Home Depot , stopped at a traffic light talking about it . Out of nowhere a Monarch Butterfly flew past out car windshield and back into the woods ! Ever since my mother passed away , I always see Monarch Butterflys at the oddest times, and always when she is on my mind . The odd thing about yesterday was , it is way too early in the season for them, they are usually around here in late Aug. Plus it was way too chilly yesterday . I took it as a sign that she was with me in spirit , even if she couldn’t be with me in body . It made my day !

Leave a Reply

 
