All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Day Trip

Posted by Susan on June 2, 2009

This morning I got up at 5am to get my workout in before we went away for the day. I did 30 min. of circuit training, and 30 min. HIIT on the treadmill. Then I got myself ready to get on the road.

Our destination for the day was Mystic , Connecticut. It is about 2 hours away from home on the coast of Connecticut. On the way we stopped at this cute little diner. I had 1 egg , 1 slice of cheese, and one slice of ham on an english muffin. I aslo had a bite of Matt’s home fried potatoes! (YUM!)

That meal pretty much held me for the entire day ! I packed snacks just in case, we ended up breaking into them on the ride home.

We first stopped in this cute little town called Stonington. Matt went there for work a few times and told me all about it and I really wanted to visit it. It was quaint and beautiful. Right on the ocean, definately my kind of town ! It was a perfect day today , aside from the wind. We stopped and walked the beach and took tons of pictures.

Then we were off again ! To Mystic. Our first stop was the Mystic Aquarium. We’ve been there before with my niece Kate, and always wanted to go back. We had fun wandering around all the exhibits, and watching the whales, and seals be fed.


From there we went to the Mystic Seaport. That was beautiful. Like stepping back in time. It is a huge museum, a recreation of a fishing town that was once there in the 1700’s. We walked all over and visited all the exhibits, went on all the refurbished fishing boats.

My husband is a history buff, and loved it ! I loved looking at the homes that were furnished as they would have been during that period of time. the entire place was magical.

We had a great day ! When we got home we did some more work on the yard. It’s really coming together and I am so happy ! We bought our house from an older couple who didn’t do much with the yard. It looked really shabby. I am really happy with all the progress we have made.

Tomorrow is our 2 year wedding anniversary! We have a special plan to celebrate the day, and I am looking forward to it !

Today was ok food-wise, until tonight. Sunday I bought some trail mix and tried some. Well trying turned into going overboard. I ended up throwing it out. I am not over my calorie range for the day , but I could see myself stepping into the danger zone and I just could NOT let that happen ! I have come way too far to fall back into bad habits !

I am really finding this balance thing tough. I feel weird upping calories, I am nervous about it. I am not even sure what I am doing ! Ugh ! Dieting was so much easier !

2 Responses to “Day Trip”

  1. Tiffany said

    Sounds like you had a great day. It looks beautiful.

    I can only imagine how difficult maintenance is. I think that’s where a lot of people go wrong. They get to goal and they think that they can go off the diet lifestyle. But, luckily you know not to fall back in old patterns. You’re doing great.

  2. Syl said

    Susan,
    I just have to say you look absolutely beautiful. You are glowing and look so happy! I am so proud of you!

    You will get thru maintenace no problem because you want it bad enough.

    Enjoy your day tomorrow and happy anniversary!

Leave a Reply

 
