All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Some Days You Just Don’t Feel Like It ………….

Posted by Susan on June 5, 2009

This is what the spin bike I did HIIT on this (late) morning felt like ! Huge, heavy, and daunting ! I was just not in the mood to workout !
I love being on vacation because of the freedom. But sometimes freedom is a double edged sword. I have been completely off schedual this week because I don’t have the time constaints I have on a work week. I am constanly clock watching on week nights trying to get everything done so I can get to bed between 7-8. This week I have been putzing around, going out w/ hubby, and just relaxing. Suddenly I will look at the clock in shock ! How did it get to be 9 pm already !!!!!
Needless to say , I have not gotten to bed this week before 11 or 12 ! I still like to get up early to work out , because I like to get it out of the way. (not as early as work weeks, it is vacation after all !)
Yesterday out of nowhere TOM showed up ! When you get to be my age, it tends to be totally erratic ! Never comes when you expect it and sometimes does not come at all ! It has left me feeling really blah ! (no crazy chocolate cravings though ! that’s a plus !)
When I got up this morning I was shocked to see that it was 9am !!! I never , ever sleep that late ! It usually makes me feel yucky all day for one thing, and for another , I hate to waste a day sleeping. By the time I got myself together, and had breakfast ( I was afraid it I didn’t eat it then I would end up eating it for lunch) it was already 10am !
I knew I needed to get the workout in. I also knew that I just did NOT feel like it. As always excuses started running rampant through my head. I weighed myself this morning, I am a pound below 140lbs., what would it hurt ? It is just one day , right? I will eat less today to make up for it ! This TOM is wiping me out…….. I need a rest day !
I hate excuses. I especially hate them when I am the one making them ! I just got dressed, put on my sneakers and went down stairs to do it ! It wouldn’t kill me right? It may even help me feel a bit better.
I did my schedualed Friday circuit training, then I got on the bike for my 30 min. HIIT session. I cannot remember when the last time I had such an horrible session. It felt like the longest 30 min. of my life. It just never ended ! Ugh!
But I did it . I completed my hour of exercise because this is my life now. This is the payment I make on the ability to wear size 6 jeans. It has to be done, it is just that simple. Did I love it today ? Heck no ! But that is just tough ! Days like this come and go. There will always be times when I will have a great excuse. There will always be times when it is inconvienient. There will always be times when I am just plain sick of it too !
The trick is to look at where you are, and look at where you’ve been and make a choice. One hour of your life is all it takes to keep what you have right now. That is all I have to say to myself to get me into gear. Wether I feel like it ro NOT !
2 Responses to “Some Days You Just Don’t Feel Like It ………….”

  1. Syl said

    Way to fight Susan, it's stories like this I love to read!

  2. Tiffany said

    Good for you. It's that attitude that's going to keep you fit for the rest of your life. Sounds like you've got it down pat.

    Also glad to hear I'm not the only one who had an exciting Friday night! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
