All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Unfounded Fears and a Good Night’s Sleep !

Posted by Susan on June 9, 2009

I am happy to report that the scale this morning showed that I am still right on target. (139.4 lbs.) My little panic yesterday turned out to be unnecessary. I guess I am going to have to deal with my fears for a while , until I get myself to a point where I am comfortable with maintaining my weight. My logic hasn’t caught up to my emeotions as of yet. I hope it gets better, but what do I expect ? It is only mid way through week 2.

Today at work a friend (who had Gastric Bypass 3 years ago , and who is has had trouble with weight gain lately) came to me in tears. It seems that 2 of the girls from another dept. called her out on her recent weight gain. They told her she was gaining weight, and that she needs to watch herself before it gets out of hand and she gains back all the weight she lost ! I felt horrible for her (I’ve been the recipient of such criticism before) and tried my best to console her. In her state of upset, she even told me that when I start gaining back the weight I lost ( NO HAPPENING !) , see how I feel !

Anyway that is not what this post is about. The question I have is, why is it that people feel the need to offer their opinions when you don’t ask for it ?! Especially when it comes to weight ! I don’t get it. Is it that people just don’t think before they open their mouths? Or is it that people are that thoughtless and unfeeling? Since I understand the emotional pain that goes with weight, I would never ever think to mention to someone that they are gaining . Even if it is meant as help………….it really isn’t any help at all !

Honestly you can’t win anyway ! I got the comments on my weight when I was fat, and now I get them now that I am not ! Someone today asked me if I’d lost weight, when I said yes I did, they started with the “don’t you think your a bit too thin?”stuff !

I would love to go on and on about not caring what others thing, but I am not that evolved yet ! Weight loss doesn’t instanly make insecurities go away. I still have a ton of work to do on myself in that direction. All I know is that when your feeling badlt about how you look, you don’t need anyone to remind you of what you already know !

Ok, enough ranting for one night. I promised myself that tonight would be a full 8 hours of sleep, so I best get cracking ! The late nights of vacation on definately messed my sleeping patterns up. Have a great tomorrow everyone !

5 Responses to “Unfounded Fears and a Good Night’s Sleep !”

  1. Syl said

    I would say that these idiots need to be reported to HR, sounds like some people in your office need a talking too..unbelievable!
    Sorry that is just one of my biggest pet peeves. It's unreal how people can be so inconsiderate – mean people suck!
    Congrats on maintaining, I will definately coming to you for advice when I get there!

  2. mak'n Changes said

    THANK YOU! I have been asking the same question. Why must people volunteer advice that was never requested? In all aspects of life it is better to just listen with your ears and keep your mouth shut unless asked for advice. That poor lady! Jeez!
    Cindie

  3. skinny me! said

    poor woman…arrghhhh I hate when people do that!! So annoying. its hard enough dealing with this stuff on our own without others butting in.

  4. Sal said

    I know it can't everyone you work with – but some of your colleagues sound like complete b i t ches. First you and now this poor lady, outrageous.

  5. Watching and Weighting said

    I think basically human beings are competitive and do not like to see others succeed in areas that they themselves find difficult or are insecure about. Weight/diet(particularly amongst women) is possibly the main topic that illustrates this point. Why can't people just be happy for one another? That's why i LOVE the blogging community because we ARE supportive of one another and it isn't a competitive thing because we don't know one another in real life. You sound to me like you have your head screwed on the right way and a whole heap of self awareness, and you've gone about your life changing weight loss in the right and healthy way. Your head and emotions will catch up, don't worry – just let it happen. YOU'RE FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!! xxx

Leave a Reply

 
