All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Don’t Believe Everything You Read !

Posted by Susan on June 10, 2009


I spent almost all of last year obsessed with abdominal muscles and trying to lose my pooch ! That is what I call that horrible lump of fat that is below the belly button. I would spend hours reading Oxygen Magazine and on various websites trying to find out how to accomplish this mammoth feat !

I was convinced the only way to get rid of my belly fat was to completely banish all white flour, sugar, and white potatoes from my diet . My diet consisted of hard boiled egg whites and plain oatmeal for breakfast, ( atrificial sweetner was a no-no) lunch would be 4 0z. of salmon or talapia with lettuce, (no dressing) and for dinner I would have 4 oz chicken breast, 1/2 a sweet potato or brown rice, and more lettuce. My snacks would be an apple, protien shakes and a protien bar (that tasted like paste). I did countless hours of cardio and some weight training. This was day in and day out.

One day a week I would have a free day that would turn into an all weekend free for all ! It would consist of (literally) pans of fudge brownies with 2 inches of chocolate frosting, chips, chocolate bars, and anything else I could get my hands on ! By Sunday night I was sick as a dog and ready to face another week of deprivation gladly !

I took every fat burner on the market, I did ab exercise routines 3x a day, I did everything and anything I read about. I would copy figure compition diets, read competitor blogs, could not for the life of me figure out what I was doing wrong ! I was getting nowhere, I was losing and gaining back the same 6-8 lbs, and I was totally frustrated !

Even a consultation with a dietitian (2 of them) could not sway me from my course. I was convinced that they had not idea what they were talking about when they advised me to stay away from extremes. And looking back on it all now that is exactly what I was being…. extreme !

After reading some great blogs ( Prior Fat Girl especially) I woke up ! I saw how people were losing weight without complete deprivation, living normal lives , lives that consisted of moderation !

I started eating smart. Nothing was off limits, but nothing to excess either. I ate fruit and veggies, whole grains and protiens, but I still ate white flour, and every single night I had dessert! Everything portioned out. No snacking out of a box or bag. Everything measured, and tracked. Everything in moderation. The good and the not as good combined. I ate like a normal person, not a limited person.

I found no need for free days because I was eating food I enjoyed. I allowed myself treats (within reason) and I lost weight and even lost my pooch ! The pants I am wearing in the pic above were size 14 and the lower belly area was bursting at the seams ! I was always uncomfortable in them and I always wore long shirts to cover myself.

I don’t have abs of steel by any means, but I am definately a more satisfied person who never feels deprived. All of those magazines had me convinced that there was only one way to get the weight off. But there isn’t ! Moderation works ! You don’t have to be miserable, craving all the things you can’t have.

The moral of this story is this: Everybody is different, and no diet is good or bad. But do yourself a favor and do something that you can live with long term. A life of deprivation is not a life ! Balance is the key. If you love cake , can you honestly give it up for life? Forever ? For me the answer is no. I need to know that I can have some if I want some (or anything else that strikes my fancy) once in a while !

8 Responses to “Don’t Believe Everything You Read !”

  1. Syl said

    your abs look AMAZING lady! you are right, everything in moderation is the key

  2. Jen, a priorfatgirl said

    Ditto what Syl said, your tummy looks great!

    You are so right, this is about living the rest of our lifes healthy. It sucks, there is no easy way to be healthy. But once we suck it up and accept it, we can change our mentality and just enjoy life!

    YAY for having cake! I'm about to go get me some dessert after dinner 🙂

  3. mak'n Changes said

    Oh wow! I'm feeling a little emotional. That was an amazing post! Thank you for every word you just spoke. Thank you for every learning curve you experienced and thank you for allowing myself to learn from you!
    CINDIE

  4. Kelly Olexa said

    What a GREAT story!! I'm so glad to see it. This is what I'm doing more of now and I feel better physically and emotionally as well. I'm living my life again and guess what; losing weight too!! Who woulda thought?
    Keep it up!! WOOT!

    😉

  5. Tiffany said

    Great post! The best part is that a moderation diet is sustainable. Some people have great success with those limiting diets, the problem is that they can not sustain the results. Yours was a lifestyle change and it's totally doable. And now you're inspiring others!

  6. Katie J said

    You look Fabulous! Thank you for writing such a poignant post and for being an inspiration. I am SO happy for you!

  7. Heidi said

    I bow to you, and couldn't possibly agree with you more on that last paragraph. "A life of deprivation is not a life !" what a perfect quote. I think we need it on a t-shirt.

  8. Erin said

    Agree with all those before. You look amazing, and your view on "everything in moderation" is what i'm trying to teach myself throughout my journey.

    I definitely make sure i allot myself points for dessert, whether it's fruit, ice cream, etc.

    Really love this post!

Leave a Reply

 
