All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Monumental Decision

Posted by Susan on June 14, 2009

Two weeks from this Thursday (July 2nd) I am going to do something that in January of this year I vowed I would do. I wasn’t sure I would make it to this point , but since I have it is time to make good on this promise.

I lived in a lake community, and part of our yearly fees includes beach rights to the community beach. I’ve lived here for 2 years this July 2nd and since I’ve lived here I’ve never used the beach. I’ve gone down there in the evenings with my niece or visiting family to swim but always sat on the shore in sweats and a t-shirt, I’ve never been down there in a swimsuit, and never ventured down there alone , and not during the day.

I’ve decided that on that date I will do it ! I am going to pack up my book, some lunch, and put on my swimsuit and go down to the beach to spend the day ! I’ve been putting it off long enough ! Making a million excuses, and now it is time to just do it !

I am going to ignore my loose skin, my stretch marks, not to mention the left over cellulite on the back of my upper thighs, and just bite the bullet ! I look better than I ever have and although that does not mean perfect, I am smart enough to understand that there really is no “perfect”. I am normal, I am just like everyone else. I need to face this fear once and for all so that I can enjoy my summers and my home ……. Lord knows we pay enough for the privilege so I may as well take advantge of it ! Plus I love the lake, I love sitting by it on the sand, I love swimming, it was one of the reasons I was excited to move here in the first place.

I need to do this. Just break the ice and get over it ! So I’ve marked it on my calendar , no more excuses. This was one of the first things on my “Things to do when I get skinny” list and I am not letting this summer, another summer, pass me by.

So pray for nice weather on the 2nd of July…………….. I’ll keep you posted !

5 Responses to “Monumental Decision”

  1. mak'n Changes said

    Oh YAY! That is gonna be so fun! What a fun way to spend your summer months. Take pics and show us. Have fun!

  2. skinny me! said

    wow! Thats great! I'm sure you look good! Everyone tends to be more critical of themselves right?

  3. Tiffany said

    Funny – I wrote a post that is kinda related today – only I'm not at goal. I say go for it. You have nothing to lose! You look GREAT!

    Thanks for the suggestion of trying HIIT. I've looked it up and think I've got the concept down. I'm going to start doing 20 minutes of HIIT 5-6 days a week first thing when I get up. Hopefully the treadmill will be okay. Can't wait to see if that helps shake up my plateau. Thanks again for pointing me in the right direction.

  4. Jen, a priorfatgirl said

    YAY!!! You can totally do it, you have come so far! And if you get scared, just remember: You are the only one standing in the way. What do you think will happen when you put your swimsuit on and go down there? You think you will die? YOu think someone will say "aaahhh!!!! put a towel on & cover up!" 99.9% of all the other women on that beach will be so worried about what they themselves look like, they won't pay any attention to what your wearing. Can't wait until July, your going to look awesome!

  5. Girlwithnoname (Jackie) said

    YOU… GO… GIRL!!!! Woo hoo!! Life's too short not to enjoy summer, beaching & swimming. Let us know how much fun you had ok?

    :-)))))))

    J

Leave a Reply

 
