All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

When Is It Enough?

Posted by Susan on June 23, 2009


Around the begining of May I hit my first goal weight of 150 lbs. I was really happy about it. I hadn’t weighed that much since I was in High School ! (that was a really, really long time ago , I am old , don’t forget !) When I told my husband that I hit 150 lbs. he said that’s great ! Now your done right? I thought about it for a few minutes and then told him I wanted to lose 10 more pounds, I didn’t think that 150 lbs. was where I wanted to be. He looked at me and asked me “Sue, when will it ever be enough for you?”

That got me to thinking seriously about what exactly would be enough ? Would there ever be a time when I would be satisfied enough to say that I was happy with myself the way I was? Would I never be able to say that I am as thin as I wanted to be?Would I always be striving for some sort of “perfection” that only exisits in my mind?

I think the day I actually knew that I’d reached “enough” was the day I went shopping with my sister. That was when I knew that this is pretty much as good as it gets unless I was planning on platic surgury for bigger boobs, or tightening up some loose skin !

I am so glad to be happy with what is. What is is not perfect. I don’t look like the fitness models in magazines, or actresses on TV or in the movies. I look like me, but smaller , but I will never look like anyone else. But I am OK with that. I worried at one point if this would become a obsessive thing with me. Thankfully it hasn’t.

I am happy with the size 6 jeans, and knowing that I can get away with wearing a swim suit this summer. I am glad I can wear sleevless tops and tanks for the first time in years. And I am extremely happy that I can go shopping and not buy something because I don’t like the cut or color, not because I look like a house in it !

I guess what I am saying here is that I have gotten to the point where I accept myself as is. I am not trying to reach some unrealistic ideal. I like what I see when I look in the mirror, imperfections and all. I have reached my “enough”.

***I weighed myself this morning and the 2lb. gain I had after the weekend indugence is gone. I am back to 140 lbs. I just lightended up my calories yesterday. It is so liberating to know that I can have fun once in a while, I can eat treats I never eat, and still maintain my weight !!! I just have to sure I pay for my day of play !!

4 Responses to “When Is It Enough?”

  1. Katie J said

    What a great post Susan! It is so encouraging to see you make peace with your body. I think you look marvelous and was even telling my best friend how flat your belly is! I will be looking forward to watching your handle maintenance. Can't wait to get there!

  2. Jen, a priorfatgirl said

    WOw! What an amazing journey you have been on Susan! And what a great accomplishment it is to be able to say, where you are right now, is okay with you!

    You are truly an inspiration – you have done so much 🙂 I am right there with you, okay almost. Almost at the point where I can accept myself for who I am and not what I want to be. You inspire me!

  3. Syl said

    I love everything about this post and about you, you inspire me to be a better person and I hope that one day I can be in the same place you are today.

  4. Tiffany said

    You look absolutely amazing. And I'm glad you realized it's enough. You look thin, you look healthy and most importantly you look happy!

Leave a Reply

 
