All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Working out

Posted by Susan on July 3, 2009

Today was an extremely productive day ! And I am still not even close to being done yet ! I have a To-Do List a mile long and I’ve at least checked off a good chunk of it. All in preparation for Sunday’s party.
I got up a little late this morning (7am , that is sleeping in for me !) I made up some lists while I had my tea and then went downstairs for the best workout ! I am currently (I change up my routine every 4 weeks) doing a total body circuit that consists of 10 different upper and lower body weight exercises. You can do the circuit once (all 10 exercises with out any rest in between) or you can repeat the circuit 1-3x. I started this week doing it once since it was my first week. I figured I would work my way up as the weeks progressed. This morning I was full of energy so I did the circuit 3x and it kicked my butt ……in the best way possible ! I can feel it everywhere ! After I completed my circuits I did 30 mins. HIIT on my spin bike . I felt so good afterward! It was definately one of the most satisfying workouts I’ve had. I can’t wait to see if after the 4 week duration I see any difference in my muscle tone.
There is nothing in the world better than a really good workout. You know , the ones where you are totally and completely present , and you feel like you could go on forever. The ones that make you tired, but in an energized way, not in a depleted way. It set the tone for the entire day for me. I have been able to focus, and get a lot done, and I can tell I will be getting a lot more done before the night is over.
This is one of the reasons I know that exercise is something that I will never give up. The return is so much more than just weight loss, or looking better in clothes. (although that is a great bonus) For me it is also about the clearity it gives me. The sense of accomplishment is important too. It is something I look forward to. I have my days when I am not in the mood, but I always know that I will feel so much better both mentally and physically if I just drag my butt down there and do it.
Daily workouts have also become a spring board for new active hobbies that I’ve recently gotten into. Hiking and now biking are something I love doing so much that sometimes they don’t feel like working out at all. I am hoping that in the future I try all kinds of active things to try and fall in love with.
Yeah, I would say that getting into the workout habit has really made a huge difference in my life. It has opened doors to me that I never even thought about before. I am actually getting to the point where I take any chance I get to make daily things , like housework and yardwork and see them as a chance to move my body and be active.
So when people tell me they can’t workout because they hate it I always tell them to keep doing it because sooner or later the habit takes hold and you wonder how you ever lived without it !
Leave a Reply

 
