All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Revelations / Proof Challenge

Posted by Susan on July 7, 2009

A funny thing happens every time I cross something off my ” Things I Will Do When I Am Skinny “ list. I always walk away with some revelation about myself that is totally unexpected. I have been doing a lot of thinking about food lately. About how certain foods make me feel, both positively and negatively , in a physical way.

I have to admit that when I eat foods in their natural state , like fruits and veggies, whole grains, things without a lot of preservatives, I feel better. I am fuller , and although when I’ve heard people say it in the past , I always thought they were “just saying it” because it is the right thing to say ………… I never gave it a lot of credence. But I do see that “everyone ” was right and I was wrong ! There is definitely a difference.

So I am making a little challenge for myself . I plan replacing some of my processed side dishes and snack with healthier, unprocessed foods.

Now I am striving for balance in my diet, and I know for me personally, nothing extreme will ever work for me. So I will still be enjoying some of my favorite processed snacks and treats , but I will be balancing them with the good stuff. I like the benefits of the good stuff, but I need not so good stuff too !

I want to be a ” well rounded ” dieter. I want to love what I eat because if I don’t , I have no chance at maintaining my weight loss. So this week’s food shopping , there will be a lot more time spent in the produce section of the super market ! I’ve gone through some of my recipe books for ideas, and I love raw veggies as well as grilled , so I will be eating a lot of that type of thing !

Speaking of challenges , Jen over at “Prior Fat Girl ” has challenged her readers to post on their blog , or send her a photo , after a good , hard, sweaty workout. I love this idea ! I’ve already warned the Hubs that I will be needing an after workout photo. ( that means he needs to take it at 4 am, cuz I workout at 3 am !) He told me to leave the camera on his bedside table so he can snap me a photo and go back to sleep ! I plan on doing it Thurs. because I have a circuit / HIIT day planned and I am usually drenched afterward ! She wants proof , and I am going to give it to her !! I can’t wait !

Ok time to read for a bit and then go to bed …….the 2-3 days after time off are rough for me ! So I have one day under my belt , it can only get easier from here ! ( I hope ! ) Off I go to get my 8 hours in ……… BTW I truly believe 7-8 hours of sleep a night is a must when it comes to controlling or losing weight ! I make an effort to get it most nights !

Off to bed ! tomorrow is another day !

4 Responses to “Revelations / Proof Challenge”

  1. Jen, a priorfatgirl said

    ooohhh…can't wait to see the sweat! I'm going to collect them all and show it off on Friday. We'll see what you got 😉

  2. Jen, a priorfatgirl said

    oh and forgot to comment regarding the food. This is something that coincidently enough, I just started thinking about too! (we are twins!) I eat frozen meals and have every day for the last 2 years…was thinking about thinking outside of the box (cheesy pun intended)

  3. Tiffany said

    I agree, balance is key. If you focus on unprocessed foods and allow treats in your diet you will be successful.

    And I have to ask – what time do you work? Sounds like you have to get up WAY too early?

  4. Heidi said

    I totally agree with you about the more natural foods. I think I mostly found this out by eating on a budget. It's so much cheaper to buy unprocessed foods and I realized that I feel so much better when I eat them too.

Leave a Reply

 
