All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Mission Aborted : Lesson Learned

Posted by Susan on July 18, 2009

We haven’t hiked in over 3 weeks because of an over flow of social obligations. Since this weekend, yet again we have plans, we decided to get up early and get in a hike before the mad rush began.

It stormed all night , but this morning I was up at 5:30 am, ate breakfast, threw in a load of wash, packed some snacks and water, and woke the Hubs. We were on the road by 7 am. I was so excited ! We were headed to White Memorial Park in Litchfield, CT. I have been dying to check this place out for a while now. It has over 300 acres of trails, a museum (that wasn’t open yet when we went) and we had planned a trail that had a boardwalk a like long right in the center of a marsh.


It started out great ! Absolutely beautiful ! I was really looking forward to our 4.7 mile trek through the woods. We got on to the trail and were immediately attacked ! ( I am not bring dramatic here, I swear we were literally attacked !) All sorts of deer flys , tons of mosquitoes, like clouds of them ! I stopped at one point to take a picture of a beautiful ruby red mushroom and literally had 3 mosquitoes biting my face !

After about a half mile into the trail it was getting to the point where were not enjoying the beauty anymore ! We were swatting and yelping, and smacking each other on the back and in the head ! It was crazy ! Unfortunately I couldn’t take it anymore ! We turned and went back to the car !!!!!!

I am so disappointed ! I hate quitting, and I hate being a baby about things, but this was horrible ! ( am still scratching and swatting invisible, non existing bugs as we speak !) I was pretty bummed out about our aborted mission.

Lesson leaned: If we are going to do this on a regular basis, we need to be prepared. I plan on packing up a backpack that we will take turns carrying from now on. It will contain bug repellent, a first aide kit, hats, water, snacks, rain ponchos, and anything else I can think to make out hikes safer and more comfortable ! I don’t ever again want to waste a beautiful morning like this .

I was using our hike as my workout for the day, but since we only got in about one and a half miles, I don’t think that really cuts it ! We are taking my niece bike riding later tonight at a school down the road, and I am planning a circuit workout at the play ground while we are there. I also have an entire house to clean so that will be some active rest thrown in as well.

At the moment I am sipping tea, and catching up on blogs, and scratching the bites I acquired on out ill fated attempt at hiking. Then it is to work I go !

I made the decision that I am not getting all stressed and crazy about this luncheon tomorrow. I put a ton of pressure on myself when we have people over. I want everything to be perfect because I feel it is a reflection on me. I also have this (embarrassing) secret desire to be the Martha Stewart of the family ! My mother used to entertain effortlessly, and everything was always simple and perfect. Many times she would go out in the backyard and pick up things she found growing around and create beautiful center pieces, and many times she used old place mats and napkins and mix and match them so that every time she set a table it looked different and unique.

For some strange reason I strive for that when I entertain. But today I have decided that while I will still strive for everything to look nice , I am not going to be crazy, drive my husband nuts over it, and be in a bad mood while I try to get it all done ! I always go into panic mode for some stupid reason, even though I always find time to get everything done ! Yes, I know, I am a little bit of a control freak, but at least I am aware of it and I am trying to work on it !

I will take pics of my play ground circuits tonight, I have a lot of things planned ! Have a great Saturday !

Leave a Reply

 
