All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Ready For A New Week

Posted by Susan on August 2, 2009

Monday Mini-Goals :

  • Eat 3 meals a day : I am trying something a little different this week. I have been doing the 3 meals/2 snacks thing for a while now. I feel like I am eating , not because I am hungry, but more like because I am supposed to ( I am used to the eating every 3 hour rule). I want to experiment this week and see if I can train my body to eat just 3 good meals and see if it works. I am afraid the snacking will end up being my undoing. It gets out of control very easily for me.
  • Get to bed on time : This is something that is very easy for me in the winter months, but summer, with it being warm and lighter out later, it has been more of a challenge. Especially on nice evenings. I need to be in bed at my usual time, no ifs, ands or buts this week.
  • Get in my water : I will say 3 out of 5 days at work I get it in, but if I am busy, the water suffers. I need to make a conscious effort to get it in every day this week.
  • Take a multi-vitamin every day : This is something I always did, but this lately I don’t even think about it ! I need to put the bottle on the table so when I have breakfast in the morning it is right in front of me , so I remember to take it !
  • Absolutely NO food after dinner: Big problem lately ! I just finish dinner and an hour later I am picking ! This week I will not pick after dinner. I am not even hungry. I do it out of boredom? I was really good about it when I was trying to reduce my weight, but now that I am maintaining I have this warped sense of it being OK. It is not OK, and it was one of the things that got me up to 210 lbs. in the first place ! This week I end the cycle before it gets out of control !
  • Work out every morning : Something I do anyway, but it doesn’t hurt to make it a goal. It is a something I need to continue for the rest of my life so I may as well include it !
  • Continue “On Program” mentality: Lately I have kind of slacked off on the “on program” way of thinking. I have sort of allowed myself to relax , which is a good thing in some ways, but I need to remind myself that there will never come a day when I can just be mindless when it comes to food. I am still on program and will always be ……. it is just not a weight loss program. If I want to keep this weight off , I need to adopt the same attitude toward eating as I have toward exercise. I will always have to keep things in moderation, I will never again be allowed to eat a whole box of “Little Debbie” snack cakes (or two) and have it be OK ! Yes I will over eat, but that has to be the exception NOT the rule !
  • Mix up cardio workouts: (Check out tomorrow’s blog post to see how I plan to do it!)

These are the points I am going to concentrate on this first week of August. I think writing them out and posting them will help keep in accountable. I also find that writing them down gets them out so I can see them and helps ingrain them into my mind ! I am one of those crazy people who writes out shopping lists and then leaves them home on the kitchen table when I go to the store. But I always find that just writing them down usually helps me remember everything (almost) I need !

One Response to “Ready For A New Week”

  1. mak'n Changes said

    You have learned so much through this journey and are such an awesome inspiration to so many! I am very proud of you for working so hard at making your future beautiful. You are one amazing lady!

Leave a Reply

 
