All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

I Love Fridays !

Posted by Susan on August 8, 2009

I am the happiest human being on the face of the earth come Friday at 3:30 pm ! I came home from work and Matt and I went to BJ’s Whole Sale and did some shopping. We just got the membership so we were pretty much just feeling the place out, and seeing what they had. I found a ton of great stuff I will be buying in the future !

Then we went over to Big Lot’s where I made a killing on healthy breakfast options for CHEAP ! I bought Fiber One Cereal , Zoe’s Granola, Kashi Granola, all to add to my oatmeal. Cereal, especially healthy stuff is really expensive ! When I get it for $2.00 a box I feel like I’ve really made a major score. We didn’t make it home till almost 8:30 pm , and I finally had dinner just a few minutes ago.

I had an Annie’s Organic Burrito , my favorite Friday night treat. Right now I am stuffed and ready for a shower and to watch some of the shows I DVR’ed during the week, and catch up on some blog reading before hitting the sack !

Tomorrow is supposed to be a beautiful day! ( that makes 3 days in a row !) The plan is regular food shopping in the morning , then out to breakfast. After that I am heading down to the beach again with my Favorite 8 yr. Old ! I have to fit in as much sun and lake time as I can before the summer is over.

The last week of the month I have a 4 day weekend scheduled. (Fri. , Sat. , Sun. , and Mon. ) By then all the kids in the neighborhood will be back at school. The kids in my town go back to school August 26th. I plan on ending the summer with a four day beach weekend , weather permitting that is !

For the first time in too many years to remember, I will be sad to see the summer come to an end. This is the first summer I didn’t have to walk around trying to cover up fat and stay cool. The first summer I felt confident enough to wear a bathing suit in public. The first summer that I didn’t have to agonize over what I would wear to social functions. It felt so liberating ! I hate having limits set on myself, and especially limits that I set on myself.

The summer has opened so many new doors for me !We began hiking again, I got a bike and we started doing that on weekends. I participated more socially than I ever have before. I really feel like I’ve broken out of a shell.

Weight loss is so much more than numbers slowly lowering on the scale. It gives you the satisfaction of knowing you can do whatever you set your mind to. It gives you a different outlook on who you are. It even gives you the freedom to accept yourself as you are , and make the most of what you have.

I can honestly say this has been one of the best summers of my life, as far as personal satisfaction goes. I feel like I am ready to make more changes in my life, set new goals for myself, to try new things , take a few more risks, and just enjoy with out that self conscious feeling that comes with being unhappy with what you look like.

So although this summer may be ending , there are so many wonderful new things ahead, I am excited to see what is next !

3 Responses to “I Love Fridays !”

  1. Katie J said

    What a great post! We are looking forward to hearing about all your new adventures 🙂

  2. Rebecca said

    oh my gosh…. this is how i hope my summer is next year!!

    have a good weekend!

  3. Syl said

    I feel the same way about the summer, I actually wore shorts this year and felt good in them.
    Have a wonderful weekend, Susan WTG! I'm so proud of you!

Leave a Reply

 
