All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Best Day Ever !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by Susan on August 17, 2009

If I could manufacture the perfect day, today would have been seriously close to it !!! My sister and niece are off this week and were planning a day at the beach. I live in a lake community, as I mentioned before, my sister lives in one also about 1 mile down the road from me.

I was feeling really bummed about the prospect of going to work today after the crappy Friday I had last week, so I decided to ditch work, fake a migraine and go to the beach today ! I rarely call in because I am always afraid I will get sick and won’t have the paid time, but I think I was in need of a definite mental health day , so I went for it !

I got up early this morning, had some whole wheat toast with a smear of reduced fat peanut butter, then did my Monday workout. I did 30 min. circuit training, 10 min. ab circuit, and 30 min. HIIT on the treadmill.

Since I had extra time this morning, I decided to make protein pancakes ! I haven’t made them in a long time, I forgot how good they tasted and how filling they are. They’re made with oats, egg whites, and fat free cottage cheese, a little vanilla, and a little cinnamon. They are amazingly good. I usually have them with a few spritzes of Olivio butter spray.

By 10 am we were off to the beach ! It was gorgeous today ! Although it was hot and sunny the breeze off the lake made the heat bearable. So did jumping into the lake every now and then !

I snacked on an apple between sunning and swimming.

My sister and niece , playing in the lake.


Around 12:30 pm we decided to have some lunch. I shared most of mine with my niece ! I had a whole grain sandwich thin, with a wedge of Laughing Cow Cheese inside, and some wheat stix.

A peach that I shared with Kate (niece).

A 100 calorie bag of chocolate marshmallows , that I shared with both Kate and my sister.
Around 2:30 pm the beach was getting crowded and we’d had enough sun, so we took one last swim and headed back to my sister’s house for a treat !


My sister made us all ice cream cones with Edy’s Sugar Free Cookies and Cream Ice Cream ! It was the perfect ending to a fun day !

Here’s my cone, I only had one serving ( 1/2 cup ). It was just enough ! I had a treat without over doing it !

I finally got home around 3:00 pm, tired and happy ! I took a shower and did some things around the house. I wanted to take a nap, but I was afraid it would interfere with tonight’s sleep so I just relaxed until dinner.

It is so warm tonight I was not in the mood for anything hot, so I made a big veggie salad and added some reduced fat cheese, and a 4 oz. chicken breast. It was perfect for a hot night ! I ate it out on my deck. ( I also added some sesame sticks and and some sunflower seeds to my salad to give it a little kick )


Dessert tonight was a throw back to my childhood. We always had cookies and ice cream for dessert on summer nights. So I made a more figure friendly version tonight. I had 1/2 cup of Fat free frozen yogurt, a drizzle of chocolate syrup. I took 4 sugar free chocolate peanut butter cookies and crushed them on top. ( the cookies are the size of a quarter , so 4 cookies probably equaled 1 average size cookie )
Amazing how some flavors can transport you back in time. This dessert definitely did the trick!
So my ditch day turned out to be just what the doctor ordered ! I feel relaxed and calm. I had fun with my two favorite ” girlfriends”, chatting and laughing , sharing lunches and swimming and sunning. I feel like I can go to work tomorrow in a much better state of mind.
I also felt very bold today ! I must be getting comfortable in my new body. I even walked to the bathroom in my swim suit ……. not shirt , no shorts , just me ! I never EVER would have done that a year ago !
All in all this was in all ways …….. the best day ever !!

8 Responses to “Best Day Ever !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

  1. MB said

    Sounds like you had a great day. I was so tempted to call in "sick" to work today. I think we all need to take those mental health days once in a while.

  2. skinny me! said

    Susan,
    yay! sounds like an awesome day! Love the food too! glad you feel better.

  3. Rebecca said

    awe…this totally sounds like a great Monday!!

  4. mak'n Changes said

    thats what Im talking about! Ditch work and play! that is my kind of day.

  5. Tiffany said

    You definitely need a mental health day every once in a while. It sounds like you made the most of it too. Happy to hear it was so much fun. Food looks GREAT too. I LOVE those protein pancakes.

  6. The Amazing Shrinking Girl said

    ha… i called in sick today too! didn't go the beach or anything, just took a mental break day. it's funny how we all get caught up in proper nutrition and exercise, but we sometimes forget to take care of our mental health too.

    glad we got ours in today!

  7. Sal said

    I'm so glad you seem happier – amazing what a day of sunshine and fun can do.

  8. Heidi said

    Sounds like you definitely had a perfect day. Good for you. Tons of pics – wow, I'm impressed.

Leave a Reply

 
