All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Saturday : What Is Up With Me Today ?

Posted by Susan on August 29, 2009

I was up this morning at 5:00 am. My husband had an all day class for work this morning, and I got up to make him something to eat on the way there. Since I was up already, I got started on my day.

Another cool, rainy day, so I knew I wasn’t getting to the beach. I figured I may as well get some stuff done around the house.

I threw in a load of wash and then got my Saturday workout in. After that I ate breakfast and started cleaning ! This is part of the end result of my cleaning frenzy. I was watching BBC America while I cleaned. A show called “How Clean Is Your House”. These two funny British women go into these absolutely disgusting homes and clean them up ! I am so fussy when it comes to my house. If the place is messy , not clean to my standards, I can’t relax. Knowing that the entire house is clean will make for a very comfortable evening !

By 1:00 I was done with everything. The whole house was clean, the laundry was done, and I suddenly hit a wall. I was tired, and crabby, and in ” I don’t care ” mood.

The only thing I can think of is PMS. That is the only time I feel like this. Needless to say , my food today reflects that:

The old stand by, and my favorite breakfast , Kashi Cocoa Beach Granola, oatmeal, and chocolate peanut butter.

At 10 am , I had a few sugar free peanut butter cups. These are teeny tiny ! I’ve had bad experiences with sugar free candy in the past so I made sure not to eat too many !


Lunch was peanut butter and jelly on a whole grain sandwich thin.

A few pretzels.


And a nectarine. I just bought these last night, and it was perfect. Really sweet and delicious.

As an afternoon snack I had some edamame. I’ve never had this before . I bought them last night frozen and steamed them . I know I am going to sound like a complete idiot, but when I tried one , I didn’t know you weren’t supposed to eat the pod. So I ate one and thought ” Ew !”. I couldn’t imagine why everyone I ever talked to about these things tells me that they are awesome. Finally, I actually Googled how to eat them. Once I learned that your not supposed to eat the pod, just the bean inside ……….. I loved them ! So I found a new snack.

Dinner was a repeat again. I was in no mood to think about what I was eating so it was nice to have the food ready and only need to heat it up. I didn’t feel like being creative and I didn’t want to think about it ….. so I didn’t !

Dessert , 1/2 cup of sugar free frozen yogurt, lite chocolate syrup, lite whip cream , and a few sugar free peanut butter cups mixed in . Yum !

Later tonight, when all is quiet ………… I have my niece until 10:00 ………… I am going to have a serving of reduced fat popcorn and watch a movie.
My goal for tomorrow is to make an effort to eat a little healthier and drop the “who cares” attitude. Although I haven’t gone over my calorie limit , I feel better when I eat better.

6 Responses to “Saturday : What Is Up With Me Today ?”

  1. Beth said

    Thank you for your comment, Susan! I'm so impressed by your before/after pictures!

  2. mak'n Changes said

    That happens to me sometimes too where I clean and ware myself out and care less about the rest of the day. But you have a clean house to enjoy as you eat carelessly.
    I've noticed that you seem really stressed out recently…..are you ok? What's causing all this? Work or does it go deeper? Just want ya to know I care.
    Cindie

  3. The Amazing Shrinking Girl said

    The eating the pod of the soy bean always gets me whenever I read that someone did that. It's actually kinda cute… I grew up in Hawaii so these are like a staple for us… glad you like them. They're good for you!

  4. The Amazing Shrinking Girl said

    And don't sweat your "off" day… we ALL have them. You sound like you'll be back on track tomorrow so it shouldn't be a problem at all!

  5. Bare It All said

    I think you did pretty well for having a "who cares" attitude! And your before/after pics look amazing up there!

  6. Jen, a priorfatgirl said

    Your edamama story makes me laugh out loud because so many people (including me) do that! Carlos and I had gone out to eat at a nicer sushi restaurant a year ago with another couple. The restaurant gives individual bowls of edamama's to each person – after dinner, I looked over and Carlos' bowl was completely empty! I was so embarressed, I just waited until we got in the car and then laughed out loud – I didn't even notice him eating the whole thing! HAHA

Leave a Reply

 
