All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Posted by Susan on September 1, 2009

Today was a day of firsts …….. September 1st, first day back to work after a long and relaxing weekend, and of course , my first day of the SHRED !

I am not ashamed to admit it, I wasn’t sure about it . I was scared to death that I would commit to it, and then have to come back and say …… I just can’t keep up with Jillian !

I am so glad that didn’t turn out to be the case. I got up this morning, pushed play on the DVD player and got to work. It was tough , absolutely ! I do circuits , but not without any rest ! This was a non-stop , sweat pouring off me , heart pounding , totally challenging workout ! And I really LOVED it !!!!!

I love how she really stresses proper form , how she talks you through it all , and energized I felt when it was finished ! I was worried I would be too beat afterward to get in my 30 min. HIIT. As it turned out, I was feeling great and did my HIIT without any problem at all !!!

I can’t wait to try it again tomorrow ! It is exactly what I want in a workout : short and sweet but at the same time gives me the feeling that I did something !

Here are my food choices for today :

Breakfast : whole wheat toast topped with reduced fat peanut butter and a banana ……. surprisingly filling !

AM Snack : An apple and a granola bar. ( I ate half before I remembered to take a picture of it !)

Lunch : Left over tuna salad from yesterday’s lunch on a whole grain sandwich thin and some Special K Crackers.

PM Snack : Some edamame …… this time minus the pod !

Dinner : Kashi 7 Grain Rice Pilaf , and 4 oz. salmon along with a veggie salad topped with some reduced fat cheese.

Dessert : A repeat of last night , but photographed from a different angle ……. I’d been thinking about this all day …….. so good ! DC cake , iced with Dark Chocolate Dreams and a squirt of lite whipped cream.
Tomorrow we are throwing a bridal shower for a co-worker . After a lot of thought , I’ve decided to skip the shower goodies and bring my own lunch ……. But I think I will indulge in a small slice of cake !!!!!!
Off to bed for me ! I went to bed much to late last night , and I need to get some catch up sleep. I am trying to train myself to get up earlier so when I start my Sept. house sitting gig, it won’t be a shock to my system . I need to get in my workouts no matter what !
Sleep well friends !

9 Responses to “”

  1. skinny me! said

    I freaking LOVE that you have dessert everyday! Good for you for starting the shred too!

  2. Bare It All said

    Day 1 is finished! Good job!

  3. mak'n Changes said

    Do I detect a bit of excitement in your voice? I haven't heard this in a little bit……..could it be the new challenge? I'm just say'n
    *wink*

  4. Tiffany said

    First off, I have to agree with all the comments to your previous post. Your abs = amazing. I can only dream.

    Second, way to go for doing HIIT on top of the shred. You're hardcore.

  5. Fat[free]Me said

    Great results with the workouts – Phew!

  6. Syl said

    So glad you enjoyed it Susan! I was afraid you were to advanced for it, but no matter what Jillian can kick anyone's butt, it's just a matter of adjusting the weights you do or going with the advanced moves rather than the modified!
    Welcome to day 2 🙂

  7. Missy said

    Good job on day 1!

  8. Melissa said

    I love the Shred DVD too! I need to get back into it. I have to admit that I take pleasure in yelling at Jillian throughout the workout.

  9. Heidi said

    Is it just me that finds your PB & nanner toast so cute – all nice and neat. Heeheeeee!

    Glad you enjoyed your first day back to shredding. me too!

Leave a Reply

 
