All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Taking Advantage Of The End Of Summer !

Posted by Susan on September 6, 2009

Since the weather today was close to perfection, we decided to make the most of it ! We piled in the truck and went for a hike !

We went to a Nature Center in our town. My husband and I hiked the trails there this past spring, and thought my niece would like it . She has never been hiking before and this was a perfect beginners trail for her.

After hiking we went to lunch. Matt and I decided to visit one of our favorite places. We love to have breakfast here , so we thought it would be fun to try it for lunch.

It always reminds us of something out of “The Andy Griffith Show “. It’s really small town and old fashioned. It’s usually full of regulars , because the waitresses always seem to know everyone by name.

We were all starving. It was almost 2:00 and none of us had eaten since breakfast. I ordered a flame broiled veggie burger and sweet potato fries. It was excellent ! The fries were the best part ! I have to admit I ate every bite !


Matt and Katie had ice cream for dessert , I opted for a home made brownie. It was warm and delicious. I only ate about 2 bites, I shared it with everyone.


After such a big , late lunch I wasn’t hungry when dinner rolled around. But when it got to be around 8:00 I was . I had a sandwich thin filled with a laughing Cow Cheese Wedge, and some whole wheat pretzels.

And …….. a single slice of carrot cake !!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love carrot cake and this slice was perfection ! It was moist and the cream cheese frosting was light, not super heavy, just like I like it !
It wasn’t the best eating day I’ve ever had. With all the unexpected things we did, I wasn’t able to plan like I do during the week. But that’s OK. I still did better than I could have done. We went food shopping tonight , so my fruit and veggies are restocked . As long as I am getting the workouts in and being mindful of my portion sizes I should be fine.
Tomorrow we have plans that include unknown food choices for me, but that doesn’t stress me anymore. I eat what I want but keep everything moderate !
I may have a surprise after the Holiday weekend is over (Tues.) so stay tuned !!!!!!!

One Response to “Taking Advantage Of The End Of Summer !”

  1. cilla said

    wow the hiking trails look amazing,and the food as well. have a nice Sunday ,also i will check into the shred DVD i think it would be fun 🙂 stop by soon

Leave a Reply

 
