All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Ever Have A Day Like This ?

Posted by Susan on September 16, 2009

Last night I skipped my nightly blog so that I could get to bed really early ! I was exhausted yesterday, and was beginning to get a tickle in my throat , ( Danger ! Danger !) so I decided to get a good night’s sleep.

Great idea right ? I had dinner, cleaned the kitchen up and took a nice hot shower. I was in bed reading by 7:30 ….asleep 15 min. later !

Just one problem.  When I went to bed I forgot to set my alarm clock ! I woke up naturally at 1:30  am ……. I was so happy I had 30 more minutes to sleep. The next time I woke up it was 3:30 am……… I was late ! Big time!

I am very disappointed to say that I missed my Shed session thins morning ! I was more than disappointed actually , I was down right PISSED OFF !

I am one of those people who thrives on routine. I’ve been working out every week day morning now for almost 2 years ! It sets the tone for my day , helps me handle stress better and if I don’t do it I feel like dirt physically and mentally !

The day began on a sour note. Although I got some extra sleep, it was canceled out by the stress I felt from being off schedual. The day went down hill from there. Work situations , issues with co workers,  anything that could go wrong did !

Even my house sitting charge’s (dogs) misbehaved this morning ( and they never do that !)

I would love to get the Shred in when I get home tonight but there is no way that will be possible. So it looks like I will be tacking a day on the end of the month as well .

I am pretty bummed about that ….. I really wanted to be able to say I did the entire 30 days ! Not for any other reason but for myself. I wanted the personal knowledge that I committed to something and made it happen. Oh well ….. life happens sometimes and things are not always within my control.

I did do some thinking about things today. This is a rough month. I am asking a lot from myself , and I realize something has got to give ! I am not giving up the Shred /workouts, they are too necessary as I learned today …. my day stinks without them ! I can’t give up either job for obvious reasons, so I made a decision.

From now on I will be posting my blog posts from the computer at the home I am watching for the month. That means no photos Mon – Thurs. I only have the reminder of this week and next week and I am back to my old routine , so it isn’t that big of a deal.

That will enable me to go home from job #2 , have dinner , shower , and get to bed at a decent hour. I will still update my Shred progress each day, but I will leave the bigger posts for the end of the week.

This morning before I left for work I pre-set my alarm . I don’t ever want a mixed up , off schedule morning like this morning again !

5 Responses to “Ever Have A Day Like This ?”

  1. syl said

    Susan,
    I can’t begin to tell you how disappointed I am in myself. I promised the 30 days too, but after my 10k I was just exhausted and then being sick hasn’t help. I kept saying to myself “they are valid reasons” but you know what I still can’t help being disappointed, but I didn’t let it get to me to long, I mean look how many people are doing it, growing stronger every day, loving the workout, I’ve had nothing but positive feed back. you missed a day, I get that you are dissapointed, but you know what just tack it on to the end or do two sessions in one day and you’ll be all caught up. Don’t be to hard on yourself Susan, so many of us look up to you.

    And I totally understand the blog thing, the pictures can be so time consuming…but I will be posting a picture tomorrow that you don’t want to miss, I laughed my butt off when I took it but it was so funny that I just can’t not post it 🙂

    Keep up the great work Susan, and like I said just tack it on at the end, we are all only human, the day you missed doesn’t matter it’s the 15 that you did do that do matter!

  2. Tiffany said

    Don’t beat yourself up too much. These things happen. The good thing is that we learn from our mistakes. I’m willing to bet that you won’t be forgetting to set your alarm anytime soon.

    I know you’re probably tired of hearing it, but your dedication to get up THAT early to workout blows me away time after time. Whenever it’s late and I think that there’s not enough time to work out, I think of you who sacrifices extra sleep to get your workout in. That usually does the trick.

  3. Janet said

    In the big picture, missing one day probably won’t have any impact, but I can understand your frustration…the extra sleep probably did you well though!

    I am going to miss seeing your food pictures during the week…

    Your schedule sounds just CRAZY, I get tired just reading about it… LOL!

  4. just wanted to let you know I understood your frustration.

  5. Missy said

    Holy camoly woman – you get up at 2:00 AM! That is crazy!!

    I hate those days that start off feeling panicked and rushed. It just feels like the whole day is off.

    Don’t beat yourself up too much about the Shred. Like you said, sometimes life just plain gets in the way. Add another day at the end you will still be able to say you did 30 days of the Shred!

Leave a Reply

 
