All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Shred / Level 3

Posted by Susan on September 21, 2009

I am so happy to report that  this is my last week of house-sitting !!!!! Although in many ways I enjoy it ( as well as the extra $$$ ), I am always happy to see it come to an end !  I have another job for 5 days in November, so I will be back soon enough !

Another reason I am happy to see it end is that I have a week off from work from Oct. 5-9 ! I am really excited to have an entire week where I don’t need to watch the clock ! I will be free ! Matt has the week off too , so we will get to spend some time together …… this month I feel like I haven’t seen him at all . It will be nice to reconnect .

I did level 3 of the Shred today …….. It was really , REALLY hard !  It felt good , but I also felt awkward doing it . Maybe because it was the first day, maybe because it was Monday, who knows. I hope as I keep doing it becomes a little easier and I get more comfortable with the moves.  I felt like I was all over the place. We’ll see what tomorrow brings, I guess.

On a happier note, I was pleasantly surprised when I checked my DVR this weekend that I had in fact tapped The Biggest Loser !!!!! I finally got to watch it yesterday, and I am not ashamed to admit, I pretty much sobbed through the entire thing ! These people really got to me ! I was never as big as any of them scale number-wise, but I may as well have been ! I could relate to the sadness, the desperation , and the feelings of ” I can’t do this, I am too fat !”

It almost seemed like an army boot camp. Was it me , or are both Bob and Jillian extra mean and scream more this season ? I understand why they are doing it, of course. They need to break them down so they can build them back up . They need to pound all their old ways of thinking out of their heads so they could plant new seeds of thought. I just felt bad for some of them .

There are somethings I don’t agree with about the show, but for the most part, I love it. I love seeing all of the transformations . I love seeing the light bulb go off in their heads when they realize they are capable of so much more than they ever imagined . I also love that even though Bob and Jillian are kind of mean to them, they end up so grateful in the end for all they do for them, both mentally and physically. I can always count on the show to provide me with some inspiration, and with 10 days of Level 3 ahead of me, I need all the inspiration I can get !! I can’t wait to see how this season plays out !

Before I close I want to make a comment on all the Shed Updates . I think we are all our own worst critics. We expect big things of ourselves, and that is good ! We work hard , and we deserve great results. I have to say , honestly that every single picture I’ve seen posted I can see big differences ! I think we don’t look at ourselves objectively enough. We see all the flaws before we see anything else. That’s why I think it is so great that we post the pictures.  The feedback we receive from each other is invaluable ! Sometimes we can’t see what is right in front of us. I see abs popping and arms becoming defined. I see thighs shrinking and waists getting smaller. I see the progress you may not see. Read your comments and then take another look at your progress pictures, you may see that you’re doing better than you first thought you were !

OK, I am off  !  Have a great ngiht !

One Response to “Shred / Level 3”

  1. Missy said

    Yeah for level 3! I did it last night and thought some aspects were harder but the cardio wasn’t as bad for me. Except those crazy jumps at the end – I was dying! And my legs were screaming after the sumo squats, squat jumps, lunge jumps…Jillian is crazy!!

Leave a Reply

 
