All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Feeling Negative , Posting Positive

Posted by Susan on September 22, 2009

That is something I find really hard. When I am stressed and mad at the world, to come on here and try to be ” Miss Mary Sunshine ” !

Today was stressful . We had a big visit from the President of our company. All kinds of preparation, went into today, and the guy was in the building for all of 30 minutes , tops !

Then a run in with a nasty co-worker . ( It is always the same co-worker ! For the most part I get along with just about everyone ….it’s just this one !!!!)

I feel drained and negative. I feel like I need a break ………like 5 days straight in bed ! But that is not going to happen . Instead I am going to try to focus on the positive.

First of all the visit is OVER and the guy is probably on a plane back to CA as I type this. Tomorrow will be business as usual again . I never realized how much I would rather have it that way until today.

The co-worker , who I have so much trouble with is off for an entire month starting tomorrow !!!!! I am free of her ! That definitely makes going back to work tomorrow a lot less of a dread !

The Shred this morning was much better. Still difficult, but I wasn’t flailing around like yesterday. I am in the minority when I say, I liked Level 2 much better than Level 3 ! But I did it, and I felt better about it, so that is something.

The whole day is behind me now, and I can forget it ! I have dinner all ready for me when I get home, all I have to do is heat it up. Then a shower and sleep.

When I wake up in the morning it will be a new day and this entire day will feel as if it never happened. Right?

The good news is that in the past, a day like today would send me straight to the candy aisle at Rite Aide on my way home from work, because I would feel like I deserved it after the day I had .

I don’t go that route anymore. The chocolate doesn’t make the feelings go away. Never has , and never will.

I will still have dessert tonight …. a good one too ! But it is a planned treat , and a moderate treat . Not some mindless binge expected to medicate the day away !

That’s progress. Something to mark as a positive all in its self !

2 Responses to “Feeling Negative , Posting Positive”

  1. Tiffany said

    Sorry to hear about your crappy day – However, it’s great that you can go through days like that without turning to food. That my friend, is VICTORY!

  2. Janet said

    I agree sometimes bad things/days that take your focus away from healthy eating can cause lapses. You handled it very well… just think if you had given in to the candy aisle at Rite Aide, you’d probably have another bad day today, because you’d feel bloated and sluggish… and guilty! Right now I feel the onset of a cold coming on… and it just makes me want to ignore my workouts and crawl under the covers with a mug of hot chocolate and a couple of doughnuts and some good magazines…

Leave a Reply

 
