All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

I’m Back !

Posted by Susan on September 27, 2009

Finally ! Time to dust off the old camera and get back to the business of blogging ! I’ve missed having sufficient time to be able to blog the way I like to blog, with pictures and with a less clouded thought pattern.

This week is my last work week before a week off from work, and I can’t tell you how much I am looking forward to it ! Matt has the week off too, so we will have some time to do some things together as well as just relax !

I often feel as though my life is ruled by the clock. I seem to always be checking my watch, trying to juggle the time in a day in order to get everything done. I love weeks off when I can do things at my own pace, and not have to clock watch.

One thing I would like to accomplish during the week I am off is some fall cleaning. Washing all the winter blankets , organizing, putting away summer things and getting out the winter stuff. Washing my curtains, washing floors, cleaning out closets, the whole deal. I also need to get out in the yard and start the leaf raking and general fall clean up that needs to be done before each winter.

Sounds like a lot huh? Oh well , I am sure we will sneak in some fun stuff here and there !

I can’t believe that I only have 4 more days ( I added and extra day due to the alarm mishap and missed day ) until I can say I have completed the 30 Day Shred ! I must admit today I was soooooo close to quitting !

I am feeling a cold coming on and feel pretty much like I’ve been run over by a truck. I got up this morning at 5 am , per usual to take care of the dogs. When I got home I was in no mood to shred, but I know that if I don’t get it done first thing…..it will either not get done, or it will be a horrible session.

I started thinking about skipping today. No one would know if I did it or not. I could just let everyone assume I did. Or I could fess up to not doing it . You guys are not going to kill me or anything, your not going to disown me. You guys never judge. What would it hurt to just give myself a break and give myself a well deserved rest day ?

Then I started thinking about who I would be cheating .  It wouldn’t be you guys, it would be me. I would not have the satisfaction of knowing that I finished, no matter how hard it was. The feeling of accomplishment would not be mine the last day of the Challenge, and even though no one would have to know I didn’t actually finish …….. I would know.

That was enough to get me down stairs at 6:30 am and shredding. It was actually the easiest session so far. And it went by super fast , and I was done before I knew it ! So I over came the temptation of slacking off , and got the job  done !

Yesterday my husband and  I brought my niece to a near by farm to do a trail ride. It was a first for both my niece and myself.

IMG_0098

IMG_0099I did not realize how difficult it is to ride a rough trail . My legs were literally burning ! It was a great workout !

IMG_0106We were having a great time , until Matt’s chain popped on his bike. We ended up having  walk part of the trail with him, but Kate and I finished the trail riding.  We had a lot of fun though. We stopped as few times to look at the scenery. The trees around here are begining to turn now. It won’t be long until we are able to go on our annual Leaf Peeping Tour ….it is a tradition we have and the beauty of this area in peak season in the fall never gets old !

As for food today …..I am dying for sweets , and have been since I woke up this morning. I think TOM is waiting in the wings , I usually feel the sweets cravings right before it arrives. i didn’t do horrible today , I just had more sugar than I am used to.

IMG_0119This morning before I did the shred I had a Fiber Plus Bar and a banana.

IMG_0120

After the Shred , believe it or not, I went back to bed ! I got up around 11:30 am and for brunch I had 2 eggs over easy with a sprinkle of cheese, and a raisin English Muffin with butter.

IMG_0121Around 2 :00 I had these Quaker Mini Delight rice cakes. I probably should have had something substantial , but I was not in the mood to fuss and craving sweet. What is not pictured is the 3 Musketeer Bar I had ( full sized) abd a few handfuls of candy corn !

IMG_0123

Dinner was a 4 oz. chicken breast , 1 c. of rice pilaf, and a salad.

IMG_0124

IMG_0125

IMG_0128Dessert tonight was a bit more than I usually eat, but as I said ……. my sweet tooth is raging tonight ! I has my last piece of DC cake (big piece , more of a hunk really) with FF frozen Yogurt, 1 T. of chocolate chips, Schocolate syrup, and a squirt of FF whip cream ! it really hit the spot  !

Since I am exhausted and Matt isn’t feeling well, we are planning on getting to bed in a few. We will probably read till we fall asleep . We are both anxious to get this week going so that we can get to our week off ! Tomorrow I get to sleep in …. 3 am wake up call instead of 2 am ! (yahoo!)

5 Responses to “I’m Back !”

  1. Tiffany said

    I hear ya. Tonight I really didn’t want to shred in the least. Just pure laziness. Well, that and I have a cold that I’ve been fighting for the last few days. But, in the end I made myself a promise and I’m going to do everything in my power to stay committed.

    Glad to hear you stuck to it. 🙂

    I also started my fall cleaning today. Not enough time to get it all done, but hoping to do a little throughout the week and wrap up next weekend. It’s a pain to do, but feels so good once it’s done.

  2. Janet said

    I am excited to see your food pictures back, they always make me so hungry though… cause it’s 10am here now and I am still 2 hours from my lunch…. 😦

    I had a cold last week, and I know how awful it feels to skip workouts, but sometimes your body just needs the rest more than the calorie burn…. (well that’s the excuse I used, anyway…. feel free to borrow it!)…

    A week off work would so SOOOO nice…

  3. Melissa said

    I love your food pics!
    Congrats on sticking with the Shred and almost being done!

  4. Missy said

    Yeah for doing it even though you didn’t want to! We can see the finish the line – we just have to stick with it and finish strong!

  5. syl said

    oh fall cleaning, I need to do that so I can find some WARM stuff to wear – Syl is damn cold!

    Glad your gig is over and life can resume, your bike adventure sounds like fun, nice that you can take your niece with you!

Leave a Reply

 
