All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Family Fun And What’s Next

Posted by Susan on October 3, 2009

Last night we had a family dinner. We try to have these once a month, but with all of the busy schedules of late summer and school starting we haven’t had one in a while. Last night was a lot of fun. It was my side of the family. My brother, his wife and kids, and my sister her husband and their kids.

We had pizza, and chocolate chip cookies . I indulged , and that is putting it lightly ! Needless to say today is going to be a light day in the food department. I feel bloated (from the salt in the pizza cheese) and lethargic (from the sugar in the cookies ).

It is always nice to share a meal and catch up, though. It is always great to get the kids together too !

IMG_0190

Pretty Kate, my sister’s daughter.

IMG_0195

All the kids : Chase, Honor, Kate, Noah, and Quinn .

IMG_0197

Our kid Totem Pole ! That is my Brother in the background……sticking his mug into the picture !

Aside from my eating too much , it was a fun night ! I kept my food light during the day yesterday in preparation for the Family Pizza Party .

IMG_0186 This was my breakfast …. banana and Kashi Crunchie Bar.

IMG_0188

I skipped lunch knowing that I was going to eat unhealthy and probably larger portions than I am used to. I didn’t take any pictures of the food I ate last night. I had every intention to do it, but once I got down to the business of  eating I completely forgot ! Funny how when I am eating well I never forget, when I am eating badly it conveniently slips my mind !

This morning I got up ( naturally, without an alarm ….. what a treat !) and did a 57 min. Spin Class.

IMG_0198

IMG_0199

I Have a Spin Bike and a bunch of Spin DVD’s. I used to do the classes pretty regularly last year but haven’t done them at all this year. I figured I would add a few classes in to mix up my cardio routine this month.

IMG_0201

I did this class this morning and I was dripping with sweat byt the end of it ! There were literally drops of sweat on the floor under the bike. I tried to take a picture of it but it didn’t come out !

I’ve decided on my workout for the next 4 weeks. I have what I call my “Workout Bible”. It contains a print out of my Turbulence Training E Book, along with other workouts I’ve clipped out of various magazines. It is my got to book every 4 weeks when I change up my workouts.

IMG_0206

I decided on this workout :IMG_0204

It is a circuit program with an added ab circuit. I will do that 3x a week with 20-30  min. HIIT on the treadmill.  The remaining 3 days I will do a few spin classes mixed in with some elliptical programs. Sunday’s I try to do some easy Steady State cardio, or hike or bike. I take rest days on Sundays as needed as well.

I feel better having a plan for the next 4 weeks. Doing The Shred for the last 30 days has been easy for me because the workout plan was already in place, I just had to follow it. I did add HIIT 5x a week to it, but aside from that I just followed along with the DVD and didn’t have to think much about it. It was nice for a change.

Sadly, when I woke up this morning I felt bloated and gross after last night’s “cheat meal” so I took measurements but skipped my final progress picture of my Shred results. I will take it tomorrow and post it then. Have a great Saturday !

3 Responses to “Family Fun And What’s Next”

  1. syl said

    sounds like a great day with family, love those days! I have always wanted to try spinning but am afraid that I would love it and there is no more room in my basement for any more equipment 🙂

  2. Melissa said

    I can’t wait to see the Shred pics!!

    Adorable kids!

  3. Missy said

    Great plan for the next four weeks! I want to see measurements and pics – I’m sure your body will just keep changing as you keep mixing it up and challenging it.

    Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

 
