All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

A Great Day And Other Random Thoughts

Posted by Susan on October 7, 2009

Today was the second day of my Stay-cation. We slept in ( 8:30 am) and I worked out first thing, and then relaxed with some breakfast and a hot cup of tea.

IMG_0009

Breakfast this morning : Go Lean Crunch over oatmeal with a spoonful of chocolate peanut butter ! I also had a banana.

We hung out for a while and relaxed, then made a game plan and went on our way !

I talk a lot about shopping at different over stock store to supplement my groceries . Today we decided to check some out and see what bargains we could score. I can usually find cereals, snacks, different types of side dishes and bars for great prices. The thing is , you never know what you will find, since the stock change all the time.

IMG_0001

Our first stop , Ocean State Job Lot’s . I can usually find some cheap side dishes here, as well as shampoo, body lotions, and cosmetics, depending on what is in stock at the time. I did really well there today.

IMG_0002

Here’s my loot !

IMG_0003

Kashi rice : These are great ! Whole grains and really tasty ! Plus I get 2 meals out of each bag.

IMG_0004

Spinach Gnocchi and Basil Gnocchi . The packages have at least 2-3 servings in each. Again, a lot of meals, and I can freeze what I don’t eat.

IMG_0005

Teeny tiny Ravioli .

IMG_0006

A large box of Kashi Go Lean Crunch ( for $ 2.00 !)

IMG_0007

A few boxes of Couscous ! A new favorite for me ! I love this stuff and one box will feed me 2-3 different meals ! Plus it is super easy to make !

Each item, except for the Kashi ceral were $1.00 – $1.50 each. All this stuff will feed me for months and I will have more variety in my meal s too ! Win/win !

IMG_0010

Next stop , Big Lot’s .

IMG_0016

Here’s what I got. More Kashi  Go lean crunch and some organic puffed wheat cereal, and Cheez-it snack packs ( mostly for my niece ). We stopped at BJ’s Wholesale Club and I got this huge box of 100 calorie packs of Diamond Almonds.

After our shopping we were hungry. Since we are on vacation we decided to do lunch a little backward. We had dessert first !

IMG_0012

We stopped at Carvel and each got a small cup of soft serve ice cream with M&M’s ! That is a lot of ice cream for a small cup, don’t you think ? In my past life I would have ordered a medium or a large cup. I see things very differently these days. The small cup was more than enough to satisfy me, yet not leave me full and feeling bloated and gross.

IMG_0014

Next we hit Bantam Pizza. We have been hearing how great the pizza is for a long time , and always meant to stop.

IMG_0015

We each got a slice. It was awesome !

We had our lunch at around 3 pm , so here it is close to 8pm and I am stilll not hungry. I may have some yogurt before the night is over but I may just skip dinner all together since I am not really hungry anyway.

Another thing I got while we were out an about was this month’s issue of Shape Magazine. Inside contains a Success Story about one of my favorite bloggers !

IMG_0008

If you’ve never checked out carrotsncake.com I suggest you do ! Tina is awesome and I check out her blog daily. I can really relate to her ideas on healthy eating and fitness.

I also decided that today would be a 2-a-day workout day. Why? Well for one thing I ate ice cream for lunch, but for another……I had the time ! I did a 57 min. Circuit Spin Class this morning. This afternoon I did 30 min. 0f easy SS on the spin bike, and a 30 min. program in the elliptical .

So today for me was the perfect day …… productive, fun , and best of all I was able to do anything I wanted when I wanted because I was completely free ! Ah, if everyday could be like this ! But I suppose if everyday was like today I wouldn’t appreciate it as much !

8 Responses to “A Great Day And Other Random Thoughts”

  1. Tiffany said

    Sounds like an amazing day. I always use my vacation to go somewhere, but I’m starting to think that staycations are where it’s at.

    Food looks yummy.

    Also, thanks for your comment today. It really does help knowing I have such great support.

  2. Beth said

    I LOVE reading about your great buys! I enjoy doing that as well. It’s way better to get a “high” from healthy food finds than from unhealthy overeating.

  3. Laura said

    The best part of Stay-cations is the sleeping in part. I honestly feel more relaxed after staying home during a vacation.

  4. Melissa said

    Sounds like a great day! I will have to check out Big Lots now for some grocery discount shopping!

  5. syl said

    sounds like a great vacation so far, that icecream looks soooooooooo good!

    I love that when you treat yourself you know exactly what you need to do to make it right. That is why you are so successful!

    Hope the rest of your vacation is just as great as your day was today.

  6. Janet said

    There is nothing I love more than poking around in grocery stores, I could spend HOURS. In fact, it’s one thing I love to do when I’m travelling because you see all sorts of different products that you can’t get at home. I love couscous too! Sometimes I take plain whole wheat couscous and cook it in apple juice with some raisins, saffron etc. YUM! Or I make a cold salad (couscous, tomatoes, cucumber, feta, onion, olives, red wine vinegar and olive oil)…

    Sounds like you are having the perfect vacation – restful!!

    Thanks for you advice yesterday about my upcoming vacation… “treat is as a test”… that was PERFECT, exactly what I needed to hear! Thanks!!

  7. Missy said

    Love all the great finds – I just searched for overstock stores by me and couldn’t find anything. Sad!

    Sounds like a great vacation day. I like the 2-a-day work-out. You must feel great!

    I too love reading Tina’s blog and was SUPER excited to see her in the new Shape!

    Have a great day today.

  8. Heidi said

    Great finds! I LOVE discount/overstock stores. We don’t have them to quite the extent as you do here in Canada, but when we holiday in the states at least half of our food comes from those stores. There is one near me here though that I can almost always get bread for .50 to $1 a loaf. I just throw it in the freezer right away and it’s good. For the amount of sandiwches (and wraps) that my family eats in a week I figure that probably saves us about $250 in a year. That’s a huge savings just for bread!

    Glad you’re having a nice ‘stay-cation” :).

Leave a Reply

 
