All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

A Day At The Zoo

Posted by Susan on October 10, 2009

I want to preface this post by saying this ………. I am totally and completely ready to get back to my old way of eating ! I want my routine back !!!!!! Yes I had fun, and yes I enjoyed a few treats, but it is time to get back to reality. I did great working out all week…….. but the food choices have caught up with me ! I fell like BLAH ! I don’t have the same level of energy, and I just feel “off”. The week off was THE BEST! But all good things must come to an end, and I am ready!

That being said here is my day at the Bronx Zoo :

I got up early this morning and got in my workout before starting today’s adventure. I did my scheduled circuit routine and 20 min. HIIT on the spin bike. Then I showered , got myself ready , woke up the husband and we were off !

IMG_0063

We picked up Kate and went for breakfast at one of our Favorite (cheap) diners.

IMG_0061

I had 2 eggs over easy, bacon, homefries, and Rye toast. I was hoping the protien over load would give me energy ……. but in reality , not so much. But it was good going down !

IMG_0064

And then off we went . It takes about an hour for us to get from our town in CT to the Bronx , NY.

IMG_0070

Here are some of my favorite pictures from the day :

IMG_0072

Kate !

IMG_0123

IMG_0156

IMG_0179

IMG_0150

IMG_0144

During the day I had a few snacks I brought from home. Some almonds ……………..

IMG_0174

A handful (or more) of pretzels …………………..

IMG_0175

A Special K Bar ………………..

IMG_0143

And some water .

We left the park at closing , 5:00 pm. The one thing we didn’t think about in making these plans was rush hour traffic trying to get out of the Bronx on a Friday night ! It was a long ride home ! About 2 hours. We were starving by the time we got back into CT. Kate wanted McDonald’s so that’s where we went ! I have no photo of it…… I was so hungry, by the time I remembered to take a pic, I had eaten it !

I had a plain burger and a small french frie . Now I feel gross !

It was a great day though ! We ended up walking 5.31 miles today ! ( I wore my pedometer ) we saw a lot of cool things , and I know Kate had a blast so that is the most important thing !

I have to admit though …. I can not wait for tomorrow ! My oatmeal, yogurt, veggies , fruit ! I miss my usual diet ! I miss how great it makes me feel and I miss the energy. It was a fun day , but I wouldn’t want to live like this forever. That much I know for sure ! I am over it !

Leave a Reply

 
