All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

New Week / New Plan :

Posted by Susan on October 18, 2009

Yesterday’s weigh in was a definite wake-up call for me. Time to tighten up my the reins on my eating and workouts, and get back to work. I did a lot of thinking yesterday and went over some of my old food and exercise journals. I also watched last week’s episode of The Biggest Loser , and that gave me some extra motivation. I feel completely ready to back on track !

Here is my plan for the next week :

  • Keep calories between 1500 – 1700 per day.
  • Workout 6-7x a week for 1 hour. Circuit Training 3x along with 30 min. HIIT. Cardio 3x a week including 1 30 min. of HIIT. One day a week (Sunday) easy SS cardio.
  • Two days ( Tues. and Fri.)  24 hour Fasting to assure a deficit. I did this while I was dieting and it worked really well. I did a lot of research on IF ( Intermittent Fasting ) and it works well for me. I fast from dinner to dinner. For example : I will have dinner on Mon. night, and not eat again until dinner on Tues. night. That way, for 8 hours of that fasting period , I am asleep.
  • Get a lot of sleep . Something I found extremely helpful ! The rest helped me recover physically, it also helped me not to pick at snacks at night !
  • Get in my water during the day . Something I have NOT been very diligent about lately.
  • Track EVERYTHING !! I keep a written food and exercise journal . It is easier for me to write things down. I like the idea of having something I can look back on when I need to. I will usually sit down at breakfast and plan out my entire day of food. This tool is probably the most important key to success for me.
  • Weigh in weekly : Saturday morning.

Now that the plan is set , the work begins ! This morning I did 30 min. SS cardio on both the spin bike and the elliptical trainer. My meal’s today were :

IMG_0344

IMG_0343

For breakfast I has 2 eggs over easy , and English muffin with Olivio , and a banana. I had them on one of the Halloween plates I bought for my niece.

IMG_0351

IMG_0345

For lunch today I had my usual Chobani Yogurt, today I had the honey flavor, but I had it with Pumpkin Granola ! I got this stuff yesterday , on sale 2 for $4 !

IMG_0346

I love , love, LOVE it ! It has a slight pumpkin spice flavor, and also has pumpkin seeds and flax seed. Not to mention the price was right. With the cold weather upon us so early this year I am really in the mood for those spicy fall flavors !

IMG_0352

I also had an orange with my lunch.

IMG_0355

Later in the afternoon I gave in to a snack size Milky Way Bar . Not so great of a choice , but oh well !

IMG_0356

I also had 3 pretzel rods with a T. of peanut butter.

IMG_0357

IMG_0359

IMG_0353

Dinner tonight was a chicken breast with Kashi Fiery Fiesta Rice , and a green salad. I love this flavor. My only complaint about this rice is a serving is one cup  and the package says there are almost 2 servings per bag. Once you measure out one cup there is less than a half of a cup left in the bag. I am so tempted to just eat the entire bag . I saved it though , I will use it in the dinner I am planning for tomorrow night.

IMG_0360

Dessert tonight was DC Cake with some lite whipped cream , and a few chocolate chips.

I had a really hard time distinguishing between hunger and boredom today. My plans for keeping busy got squashed! I was going to cook all day, mae a turkey meatloaf for the week . Unfortunately, I forgot to take the meat out of the freezer.

I managed to keep my calories within range , even with the extra hunger though , so that’s good. I feel good right now, not stuffed, but not hungry anymore.

It’s a cold rainy night here and I am planning to crawl into bed soon with a book ! the weekends fly by so quickly don’t they ? Time to begin another week ! Have a great one !

 

 

9 Responses to “New Week / New Plan :”

  1. AH! I love watching Biggest Loser for motivation. It is the best way to get my butt in gear, for some reason!

  2. Christa said

    Good for you!! Looks like you have a great plan! I love getting all the different ideas for foods…:)

  3. Tiffany said

    Looks like a solid plan to me. Bet those extra few pounds will be gone in no time.

    I’ve never heard of intermittent fasting. I think I would be CRANKY if I didn’t eat for 24 hours. You have some serious willpower. 🙂

  4. wow. I’m just now catching up.

    I think 5 lbs would freak me out too but another 10 lbs!?

    wowza…I gotta say thats some crazy dedication, especially the fasting part!

    can’t wait to see how it works out!

  5. wow. I’m just now catching up.

    I think 5 lbs would freak me out too but another 10 lbs!?

    wowza…I gotta say thats some crazy dedication, especially the fasting part!

    can’t wait to see how it works out!
    BTW I love your blog!

  6. Melissa said

    Those eggs look awesome!!

  7. Janet said

    Hey Susan, sorry to hear about your weigh in…. I don’t keep up with my blog reading over the weekends, so I was sorry to check in this morning and see that you had a small gain and weren’t happy about it.

    You are doing exactly what you need to do though (and what I have failed to do so many times in the past)… address the issue immediately. 5 lbs is easy to deal with, and you’ll get it back off in NO TIME. 20 lbs is not as easy… and 5 can turn into 20 alarmingly fast!

    Not sure about the 24 hour fasting… I don’t think I could do it… I really thrive off regular meals and routine. I have always been a firm believer, though, in doing what works for YOU, and everyone is different…

  8. Missy said

    Looks like a great plan! The fasting idea makes me nervous but I trust it’s good for you if you’ve done the research. Good luck this week!

  9. Melissa said

    You have an award on my blog!

Leave a Reply

 
