All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

I Got Through It ! (then I made meatloaf !)

Posted by Susan on October 20, 2009

Well, I made it through my first IF day. To say that is was awful would not be truthful, but to say it was easy is an understatement. The more I do it the easier it gets. This I know from experience, at least. Through out the day I can’t really say I was hungry, I mostly missed the act of eating ! Doing the 24 hr. fast gets me in better touch with what hunger actually feels like. Most of the time I don’t allow myself to get hungry before I feed myself , and if I am busy , I can go on without eating and not even notice. I find these facts very telling . It makes me wonder about all the other reasons I eat, aside from just enjoying different flavors !

Anyway I made it to 24 hours (I slept through some of it !) and when dinner time rolled around I was absolutely ready for it !!!!!!

IMG_0376

Since it was nice out tonight , Matt made me a turkey burger on the grill. I had it on a Whole Grain English Muffin (toasted) , with oven fries and a green salad ! It was the best dinner EVER ! (Probably because I was really hungry !)

IMG_0386

Dessert tonight , DC Cake with Chocolate peanut butter, coconut and chocolate chips ! Heaven !

I decided to make Turkey Meatloaf tonight . The meat finally thawed out and I was afraid if I didn’t make it the meat would go bad on me !

IMG_0374

Here are the ingredients for my Turkey Meatloaf :

  • Ground Turkey
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1/2 an onion
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 c. steel cut oats
  • reduced fat cheese (optional)

IMG_0380

The first thing I do is bring 3 cups of water to a boil, and add 1/2 of a cup of steel cut oats. I let it boil for 10 min.Then I strain out all the liquid and let it sit and cool.

IMG_0379

Then I chop both peppers and the 1/2 of an onion.

IMG_0381

I then combine the ground turkey , peppers, onion, oats and 2 egg whites together. It sometimes feels really watery but in the end it all binds together . I also add salt and pepper , and sometimes a T. of reduced sugar ketchup . I didn’t do that this batch.

IMG_0382

Once all of the ingredients are combined I separate the mixture in half.

IMG_0383

Then I cover a cookie sheet with tinfoil and it with cooking spray .

IMG_0384

I shape each half of the meatloaf mixture into 2 small loaves on the cookie sheet . I then sprinkle the top some reduced fat cheddar cheese on the top of each loaf and bake at 350 degrees for 45 min.

IMG_0388

Here is the finished product !

IMG_0389

It is enough meatloaf to last me over a week ! ( I am the only one who eats it so sometimes 2 weeks !) I usually freeze one and defrost it when I finish the first one . I love this stuff. It is pretty basic, I am a beginner cook . But it is easy and quick and makes a good amount !

Now I am off to bed ! I want to keep up the momentum of not eating after dinner ! I hope everyone has a great night !

8 Responses to “I Got Through It ! (then I made meatloaf !)”

  1. Kerry said

    Good for you! Thats a totally worthy cause…AND super hard. Your meatloaf looks yummy btw:)

  2. Tiffany said

    I don’t even like meatloaf but yours looks so yummy that it makes me want to give meatloaf a second chance.

    Great job on the IF. You ROCK!

  3. Looks easy and good! I’ve been thinking about how to make meatloaf lately. We didn’t eat it growing up, but I’d like to give it a try.

  4. Katie said

    Looks great! :]

    The heavenly cake looks amazing as well! hehe

    I hope you’re having a great week!

  5. Janet said

    Thanks for the meatloaf recipe – it looks great. I will have to try it! Glad you made it through your first fast (and happy for you that you only have to do it once per week!)…

  6. surprisingly your food doesnt look that much different!!

    i give your major kudos on the fast!!

    cant wait to see how you do!!

  7. Missy said

    The turkey meat loaf looks good – I might have to give that a try! I’m always looking for good, simple recipes!

  8. Heidi said

    Mmmm, that looks like a meatloaf I would like. Unfortunately my family would hate it, but that’s not unusual.

    With this fasting thing you do …. do you still eat X number of calories in a 24 hr period? Like say you normally have 1500 calories in a day – do you consumer 1500 cal. in breakfast/lunch/snacks on the one day, then 1500 cal in dinner the second day. Or are you actually skipping an entire days worth of calories and just eating your meal sizes as you normally would, thus consuming the 1500 cal over a 2 day period? Not sure if that’s worded right – probably sounds confusing. If it’s easier and you wouldn’t mind, maybe there is a website(s) you could direct me to. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
