All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Monday : So Glad It Is Over !

Posted by Susan on October 26, 2009

I don’t like being negative, but I have to say …….. I HATE Mondays ! Today was worst than most. I am really unhappy with my job. I can’t even express in words how much I dread going everyday, and after a nice relaxing weekends, it is tortuous ! I understand , that with this economy , and with people losing their jobs left and right, I should be grateful to even have one ! But the thought of that is easier to deal  with than the reality. I keep telling myself that sooner or later, my day will come, and I believe that. I just wish it would hurry up and get here already !!!!!

I did really well food-wise today, but it unraveled a little when I got home from work. Here is my food for the day :

IMG_0494

I got up at 3am this morning for my workout. I did my scheduled Circuit Training routine , and 30 min. HIIT on the treadmill . Before heading downstairs to get it done , I had a banana .

IMG_0495

For breakfast this morning I had 2 scrambled eggs, and a whole grain English muffin .

IMG_0498

My AM Snack this morning was an apple and some almonds.

IMG_0500

Today’s lunch was Vanilla Chobani Yogurt, with a cup of Kashi Go Lean Crunch mixed into it. By this time it was 2 pm and I was starving !

IMG_0507

Meet , my undoing …… my husband’s candy jar. This week it is filled with M&M’s ! When I got home from work I could not resist. Honestly, chocolate is sometimes like a drug to me. I can literally feel the calm wash over me the minute it melts in my mouth . I had 3 handfuls . I was pretty PO’d at myself for giving in so easily ….but true to form , when it was over I moved on and pretended it never happened. This is the only way I know of to not allow the remainder of my day go down the drain.

IMG_0504

IMG_0502

Dinner tonight was turkey meatloaf , served with couscous, and a green salad.

IMG_0509

Dessert tonight …… 7up Cake. I made it just like a Diet Coke cake, but used a yellow cake mix , and a can of Diet 7up. It was amazing, it had a tiny hint of lemon to it. I added 1 T. of Pillsbury Reduced Sugar Frosting ……….. shear heaven !!!!

I considered skipping dessert because of my mini-binge on the M&M’s ……. But why should I ? It never happened , remember ? 🙂

I am in the midst of making plans with some girlfriends for dinner in a few weeks. The only problem is, we always go to this one restaurant . The food is great , but there are literally NO healthy choices on the menu. I am going to do some research and see if I can find a different place to suggest that offers at least a few options that are lighter. I hate to be a pain about it, but I would hate to go out and only have a side salad  …… no fun ! hopefully they will be perceptive to the idea .

I am off to bed to sleep off this awful day, and keep myself away from the candy jar ! Have a great night !

5 Responses to “Monday : So Glad It Is Over !”

  1. Janet said

    I don’t like my job either really. Thing is that I can’t complain about it at all…I make good money, it’s flexible, it’s not hard or too stressful, it just doesn’t inspire me… I’d really prefer to stay at home… I do probably all of the cooking, cleaning, laundry etc at home and it is exhausting… sometimes I get resentful that I have to have a full time job ON TOP of that, and my husband only has to worry about his job. I think one of his ONLY duties at home has been outside work like shovelling the driveway in the winter… he came home a couple days ago and announced that he hired a contractor to shovel this winter… well there goes his ONE CHORE! :-S

    Gosh Yum, that 7-up cake just looks so darned moist and yummy! A couple of handfuls of M&Ms would certainly never hurt you (if you’d eaten them… which you didn’t!) 🙂

  2. Melissa said

    those M&Ms look so good!!!

  3. Missy said

    Good for you trying to plan ahead so you can have something good and still feel good about it.

    Sorry that work is sucky. That is no fun. Hopefully things turn around…

  4. wow… I feel the same way as a janet…

    could explain the funk i was/am in!

    wish i could give some advice… hang in there…we’ll get through it!

  5. Heidi said

    Your posts always make me hungry :). I’m so tempted to try making that cake, but I have to admit that I worry about keeping to a reasonable portion size. I think it might be one of those things that gets out of control for me. Although … if I don’t tell my family it’s made with diet coke they may just polish the rest off for me.

    Sorry you had such a sucky day at work. 😦 My job is pretty boring, but it’s also very, VERY low stress. I count myself extremely lucky for that.

Leave a Reply

 
