All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Busy Weekend !

Posted by Susan on November 1, 2009

This weekend has been so busy ! I feel like it has been non-stop since I got home from work on Friday night ! All of my original plans got messed up because as usual, life threw curve balls at me. I am normally completely organized when it comes to getting things done on weekends , but this weekend I just could not stick to any of my original plans.

Yesterday we had a 6 hour install of Direct TV ! My intention was to clean the house Friday night so that I could work outside in the yard all day on Saturday while the install was happening. But, at the last-minute we decided to go out to BJ’s Wholesale Club to buy paper products and other things we were running out of. Since we were in the area we also visited  Big Lot’s and I got some great (cheap) buys there. Since we were out already we decided to turn the evening into a little date night, and went out to dinner. Needless to say, nothing got cleaned Friday night.

Saturday ended up pouring rain, so no yard work …….Great ! I figured I wold get the cleaning done . I started , and the install guy came early. So I got the bathroom done and the spare room , but all the other rooms had to wait since the install guy was in and out with muddy feet for the next 6 hours !!!! I was stuck ! No TV, no internet, and bored as hell !

By the time he finished and left we had to do food shopping for the week. It was after 8pm by the time I even got to dinner !

This morning I got up knowing I had a To-Do List about a mile long! I just now finished and the day is pretty much over. Oh well, at least I got it all done.

The one great thing I got out of the whole weekend is that I now have Fit TV ! I did Total Body Sculpt class this morning. It was pretty cool ! I also now have TV in my bedroom ! So even though the install messed up all my plans, at least it was worth it.

This morning, because we set the clocks back I got up at 6:30 am , because my body thought it was 7:30 am. Knowing I had a full day ahead of me , I decided to start my day with a nice breakfast and a hot cup of tea.

IMG_0559

IMG_0562

I made an omelet using 1 egg and 2 egg whites, and a wedge of Laughing Cow Swiss Cheese. I had that with a Multi-Grain English Muffin and a banana.

IMG_0563

IMG_0566

This is how I drank my tea ! In front of the TV with Zoey. After that I got dressed in my workout clothes and did an hour of SS Cardio. I did 30 min. on the elliptical and 30 min. on the spin bike. I then tuned into FitTV and did a 30 min. Body Sculpt Class .

IMG_0570

Then………. I got to work ! I cleaned floors  and vacuumed. Then I did some cooking for the week , made lunches for tomorrow and had some lunch.

IMG_0571

IMG_0576

I made myself a chicken salad wrap made with lite mayo. I also had some humus and baby carrots .

IMG_0580

IMG_0579This is how someone in my house spent her Sunday. This is Little Edie. And the little pink thing she has is her “baby”. It is a little bunny finger puppet that once belonged to my niece, , that is until Eddie decided she was in love with it ! She carries it all over the house with her and cries when she can’t find it. Sometimes she bats her baby around the house too ….. but it is done with love !

Dinner tonight was all about comfort foods. Tonight really feels like winter to me , with it getting dark so early. I felt like traveling back in time to some of my old childhood favorites , but with a healthier , more diet friendly twist.

IMG_0582

Nothing says comfort to me more than mac & cheese !

IMG_0583

A good blog friend of mine suggested I add more veggies into my diet . When I went food shopping this week I loaded up ! I made a huge salad for the week containing romaine lettuce, zucchini, broccoli, and peppers.

IMG_0586

I made an old childhood favorite. My mother used to make us Mac & Cheese with hamburger eat mixed in. I substituted lean ground turkey for the ground beef. It was a little dry, but I got the same effect.

IMG_0585

I added a veggie filled green salad.

IMG_0587

IMG_0588

Dessert was also a childhood favorite. I think just about every week night growing up I had cookies and milk for dessert . Tonight I had 100 calorie Oreo’s and 1 c. of fat-free milk.

I am completely ready for the week to come. I am ready to kick it up a notch a get myself  back on track. We are literally on the threshold of the Holiday Season. I know that the holidays mean food ! Treats that you only enjoy once a year , parties and events, family gatherings. All of it goes hand and hand with food. I am taking these weeks before Thanksgiving to tighten up my diet and workouts to make allowances for the in the weeks ahead.This week I will be working out harder and eating better.

I am off to relax and get ready for a good nights sleep ! Have a great Sunday night !

4 Responses to “Busy Weekend !”

  1. Syl said

    Susan I have to tell you we had your egg wrap this morning for breakfast, only with a few additions and it was delicious, I had breakfast at 10am and it’s now almost 3 and I’m still full. Thank you for sharing that. I will blog about it tomorrow 🙂

  2. Sounds like one busy day!
    Great sounding food – especially the salad. Chopping everything up at the beginning of the week makes it so much easier to just add that salad to any meal when you need veggies. Good planning!

    Have a great week!
    Lynn

  3. Janet said

    Hey Susan….that looks like a great salad (wink!)… 🙂

    I tried your diet coke cake this weekend! LOVED IT! As you predicted, I couldn’t find a reduced sugar cake mix in Canada, so I just bought a regular Duncan Hines Devil Food Cake Mix… I started portioning it out into muffin tins hoping to get 24, but I only got 19 of them… oh well. They worked out to 107 calories each, which is not bad! I had mine warmed up with a scoop of fat free vanilla icecream (it was love!!)…. They were basically the same size as a Vitabrownie… but a LOT CHEAPER!! Thanks!

  4. Missy said

    Glad you had a good {busy} weekend. Hope this week is better for you than last week!!

Leave a Reply

 
