All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Sleepless In Connecticut …….

Posted by Susan on November 3, 2009

Last night I didn’t sleep at all ! I have a long history of not sleeping well on Sundays nights. I remember having trouble when I was in grade school. I always thought it was a ” I gotta go to school tomorrow ” thing, unfortunately it has carried over into my adult life as well. I pretty much toss and turn all night, checking the clock constantly , making myself nuts ! By the time the alarm went off I was just dozing off ! Not good !

Needless to say, today’s workout was not great. It felt dis-jointed , like I was sort of present , but sort of not. I did it, but I felt like I was not getting anywhere. I haven’t had a night like last night in a while. I think I was hoping that I was over it, but obviously not !

Even though I was less than rested this morning, I didn’t allow it to deter my focus. I decided I was going to get myself back on track beginning today , and that is exactly what I did …… exhausted or not !

IMG_0596

The one thing I wanted to accomplish today was to up my water intake. I was so good about drinking water while I was dieting. This jug holds 64 oz. of water. When I was dieting I drank 3 jugs of water a day. I decided today I would get back into the water thing. I drank 3 of these babies today ! I made more trips to the potty than you need to know about, but it really took the edge off of my appetite !

I also made a food plan this morning , and I was determined not to deviate from it.

IMG_0589

IMG_0590

IMG_0591

Breakfast today was excellent. I made an egg muffin . One egg made in the microwave , then I toasted a multi-grain light english muffin and spread a wedge of Laughing Cow Cheese on it. I love  LC Cheese on just about anything. I also had a banana .

IMG_0594

The egg muffin held me until around 10:00 am (I ate it at 5:30 am) . I had some baby carrots and humus to get me through until lunch time. I think the combination of protein and fiber keeps me satisfied for a longer period of time.

IMG_0595

For lunch I had Chobani Strawberry Yogurt , with 1/2 c. of Pumpkin Granola.

IMG_0593

I decided to try something different today. I find that I am hungry in late afternoon , so I had a snack at 3:00 pm to hold me until dinner. I have been finding myself picking when I get home from work. The afternoon snack helped a lot ! I was able to hold off until dinner without a problem. My snack was some almonds and an apple.

IMG_0598

IMG_0599

Dinner looks sort of bland, but honestly it was pretty good. I had leftover Kashi Multi-Grain Rice Pilaf with 4 oz. of ground Turkey. I had it with a veggie salad.

IMG_0600

Dessert …… 1/4 c. of chocolate covered raisins .

I am done eating for the day. I am also off to bed with the hopes of making up some sleep ! I feel like I am walking in a haze right now ! I am happy that I stuck to my food plan today. I feel like I am off to a good start ! My focus is on cleaning up my act and I feel as though I made some headway today ! Have a great night !

5 Responses to “Sleepless In Connecticut …….”

  1. Beth said

    My sympathy truly is with you over the insomnia. I suffer from it often during the summer. I can lie there till 4 in the morning and then finally fall asleep. Around the time each of my parents died, I even had nights where I didn’t sleep at all. So I know how horrible it is not only during the night when the time drags so slowly, but the next day as well, when it is so hard to function!

    As far as water intake, I have sort of wondered if my consistent weight loss this time has been because I absolutely make sure I drink all my water every day. For me, it’s ten 8-oz. glasses. I’ve always been able to lose weight quite easily, but never as well as this time, and I never did the water like this before.

    The above sort of makes it sound like this is just one more of my diets. But it truly is not, this is a permanent change for me.

  2. Tiffany said

    I think all that water is really gonna help. I have no doubt that you will get those extra few pounds off.

    Sorry to hear about the lack of sleep. I find it hard to function when I get too little sleep. The fact that you still got up and worked out shows that you are TRULY dedicated.

  3. Heidi said

    Hope you have a good sleep tonight Susan. Sleepless nights suck!

  4. Janet said

    I normally experience those completely sleepless nights maybe once or twice per year. They are horrible, I couldn’t face one a week! I travel sometimes with my job, and I used to have those “half sleep” nights where you sleep in fits with one eye on the clock everytime I had an early morning flight… but they don’t bother me anymore, now I’m like “shrug”, if I miss my flight, the world will go on without me!! Chocolate covered raisins are one of my favorite treats! I actually have a bag in the pantry, I measured some out for myself a couple of months ago and then I used DUCT tape to seal the bag back up (to prevent grazing)… LOL, I’ll have to get out the tool box and open it back up for another round!! 🙂

  5. Heidi said

    Just wanted to tell you how often I think of you. I see from your blog that you have a little treat pretty much every day. You are such a great model for moderation. There is no reason why we can’t treat ourselves with something little every single day as long as we make adjustments elsewhere. 50 or 100 calories of something sweet every single day does not cause us to gain weight (or stop us from loosing). Nor does it mean that we are eating unhealthy. You are such a great example of this and I wanted to thank you for that.

    We have tons of candy around the house right now and I have been treating myself to 1, maybe 2, per day – totalling no more than 100 calories. I’ve learned from you that I CAN have it every day, as long as it is in moderation.

    THANKS!

Leave a Reply

 
