All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Daylight Savings Blues

Posted by Susan on November 5, 2009

I don’t know what it is, but since we’ve turned back the clocks , I just can’t seem to get enough sleep ! I’ve been in bed at 7:30 , just about every night this week, and still wake up dragging. My workouts have really been suffering from it too ! This morning I felt so sluggish and had no energy at all. I did cardio today and was literally praying for it to be over. I can’t wait  until my body adjusts ! This morning , although my body was fighting against me I did :

  • 30 min. elliptical program
  • 30 min. SS on the spin bike

Thankfully , the time change has not effected me food-wise :

 

IMG_0636

This morning I was running a little late so I was tempted to do something quick and easy , but I was craving scrambled eggs so I made them anyway. I made my scrambled eggs with 1 whole egg and one egg white . I paired it with a Light Multi-Grain English muffin . I had intended to eat the banana with it, but I was cutting it close time-wise so I threw it in my lunch bag to have for my AM snack .

IMG_0638

My AM snack was the banana from breakfast , and almonds . It didn’t last me as long as the Humus and baby carrots, but was still good.

IMG_0640

Someone brought in a box of muffins and coffee for us this morning. I LOVE muffins , and there was one of my favorite flavors staring me down ! So I had a half of a Coffee Cake Muffin ! It was excellent and still warm !

IMG_0642

Lunch was on the run again today ! Peach Chobani Yogurt , with 1/2 Cup of Pumpkin Granola .

IMG_0643

My PM snack was supposed to be an apple, but I took a bite and it was mealy , so I threw it away .

IMG_0646

IMG_0645

Dinner tonight was a Quesadillia  made with Fat Free Re-fried Beans , ground turkey , and Reduced Fat Cheddar Cheese in a wrap . I had it with a veggie salad . It was good , but I like it more when I add the Kashi Fiery Fiesta Rice .

IMG_0649

I was going to skip dessert tonight, because of the Muffin this morning, but when I added up the calories for the day , I saw that I had room for it so of course I had it ! Diet 7 up Cake with a T. of Reduced Sugar Frosting ! Yum !

I am so glad tomorrow is Friday ! We are going to pick out the paint tomorrow night for the bedroom transformation. We also plan to tape the room in preparation on Saturday. I am so excited to get this project done !

Right now I am ready to go to bed. I am hoping more sleep will improve my workout ! Have a great night and a great Friday too !

10 Responses to “Daylight Savings Blues”

  1. Annie said

    Maybe too much sleep? What time do you wake up? I find that when I get too much sleep (which is hardly ever) I’m sluggish again. But once I have a restless night I’m back to normal.

    Sounds weird but happens more than you’d think!

  2. Tiffany said

    My sleep is off this week too.

    Where did you get the Diet 7up recipe from? It looks so tasty!

  3. Ali said

    Wow you did really well, half the muffin, bravo. I came here from Actual Scale… would love to know the Diet 7 Up recipe…please!!!!

    • Susan said

      The recipe is simple. One yellow cake mix , and one can of diet 7up ! That’s it ! Bake according to the directions on the box and your in business ! The frosting is from a can . I use Pillsbury Reduced Sugar Frosting ! It is only 60 calories per T. and pretty good ! If I make the Diet 7up cake inot cupcakes (1/2 c. tin) and use a T. of the frosting I have dessert for 167 calories about ! Not bad ! 🙂

  4. Laura said

    Is that the pumpkin granola with flax?? I just discovered that and mix it in with vanilla greek yogurt with 1/4 cup of blueberries. YUM!

  5. syl said

    Apples need to be crispy & juicy, I would have thrown it away too!
    Dinner looks delish Susan. Hopefully you can catch up on your sleep on the weekend or nap while you are waiting for the paint to dry 🙂

  6. sounds like you’ve had a busy week and can’t wait to see the room transformation!!!

    hang in there, i think the first few weeks of the new schedule is always the most brutal!

    have a great weekend!

  7. Janet said

    That quesadilla looks yummy. I think I might have a vegetarian one Sunday night (I need a nice light dinner idea because I am going out for breakfast that day!)

    Have a great weekend!

  8. Missy said

    You made it through the week!! Enjoy your weekend and have fun painting. I hate painting but love the finished result.

  9. Larkspur said

    Hey, have fun painting! Hope we get to see pics.

Leave a Reply

 
