All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

What A Day !

Posted by Susan on November 8, 2009

Today was crazy ! It all started at 10 pm last night. I was playing with my dog, Zoey and noticed something that totally freaked me out ! She was totally infested with fleas ! Now I am a real neat freak and the thought of my house having fleas sent me into a panic. We checked the cats and they were clean . I put white paper plates ( fleas are attracted to white …… I googled it ! ) all over the house to see if any jumped in. My Husband is severely allergic to fleas ,and breaks out in rashes if he’s bitten , and he has had no problems . It looked like it was just Zoey !

The weird part of all of this is , that she never goes outside. I adopted her from a woman who kept her indoors all the time and only trained her to “go” on pee pads. As much as I tried once she was with me, she just would NOT “go” outside. I finally gave up after a year of standing outside in freezing cold or pouring rain only to have her come inside and “go”. I just can not understand where in the world she got fleas !!!!!!

First thing this morning she went straight to the groomers ! She got 2 flea baths and got shaved within an inch of her life ! We treated all of them with Front Line , even though the cats seemed to have nothing. I also spent the whole morning washing things, tossing things out , and treating the carpet. (thankfully we have hardwood floors and only one area rug !)

IMG_0669

Zoey is feeling much better now !

Although my morning was nuts, I still managed to squeeze in a workout. I missed Friday’s so I knew I needed to make up for it.

  • TT Circuits
  • 20 min. HIIT on the spin bike

IMG_0661

IMG_0663

I needed something this morning that was quick and still filling. I decided on Chobani Honey Yogurt with Pumpkin Granola and a banana.

IMG_0675

IMG_0672

Finally, after all of the flea drama, it was time to get down to business ! The plan for today was to paint, and that is exactly what we did. Matt doesn’t like help when he’s painting so I pretty much just supervised.

IMG_0678

Here is a sneak preview . You’ll have to wait until tomorrow to see the finished product ! I love it , It is exactly what I had envisioned !

IMG_0677

I didn’t get around to having lunch until around 2:00 ! I made a Quesadillia with a wrap, some re-fried beans, and some reduced fat cheddar cheese. I added some baby carrots for some crunch.

IMG_0687

Around 4:15 I was starving , but not ready to start dinner yet. I had a 100 calorie snack. Oreo Cookie cakes. I don’t usually eat those for snacks but it is Saturday …. so what the hey ! Right ?

IMG_0685

This is what I made for dinner tonight ! I read about this recipe on Tina’s blog, carrots n cake and knew I had to try it ! I LOVE provolone cheese ! This recipe was simple and delicious ! It is a Sausage, Spinach , Provolone Pizza . I tweaked the recipe a little . I made it on a store-bought crust, I wanted to make it on a whole wheat one, but they didn’t have any so I settled on a white crust. I exchanged the Italian Sausage or Turkey Italian Sausage , and Reduced Fat Provolone Cheese. I also substituted  Olive Oil flavored Pam for the Olive Oil the recipe called for. The end result was so good  and by my calculations , only 222 calories per slice !

IMG_0686

I had 2 slices ! It was so great that I could absolutely eat this instead of the greasy stuff my Husband brings home on Friday nights ! I will definitely be making this again ! Thanks for posting it Tina. The recipe came from Real Simple . I will be browsing through that sight more often !I have pizza leftover for a few lunches too ! I can always eat pizza !

I wasn’t sure what I wanted for dessert tonight , and I am still undecided at the moment. I will have something later while I am relaxing ! I hope everyone is having a nice peaceful Saturday night !

2 Responses to “What A Day !”

  1. Syl said

    poor zoey, glad she was able to get everything out. I’m sure she is feeling better now.
    love the color of the room, and i had to giggle at hubby’s slippers 🙂

    I can’t wait to see the finished room, the suspense is killing me!

  2. Missy said

    I thought the pizza looked really good on Tina’s blog and now that you’ve posted it too, I just may have to give it a try. It looks SO good!

Leave a Reply

 
