All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Mental Health Day

Posted by Susan on November 10, 2009

This is something I’ve been needing for sometime now, and today in the middle of my workout I decided …….. today was the day ! I called in to work ! I worry about doing this because I am always afraid I won’t have the time if I were to get sick , but for some reason I hardly ever do (knock wood!) . Where I work sick days are use it or lose it and the thought of losing it is just NOT acceptable in my book !

IMG_0750

I started my day lounging around in my PJ’s ( yes I put them back on after my workout and a shower !) and then had a nice leisurely breakfast ! I had oats with 1 C. of Go Lean Crunch and a spoonful of Chocolate Peanut Butter , and a banana. I sat around some more afterward with a few cups of Green Tea. When Matt got up and learned of my plan, he decided to join me !  We got to hang out , so that made the morning even better ! It was so nice to be able to read the paper , drink tea and watch morning TV for a change !

IMG_0759

Around 9:00 I started getting antsy so I decided to make these for dinner tonight ! I found the basic recipe online but I modified it according to what I had in the house ,and tried to also make it more figure friendly. These, my friends, are my version of Zucchini Boats !

IMG_0753

First I chopped a 1/2 of an onion and a red bell pepper, while I cooked 1 Italian Turkey Sausage. I took it out of its casing and broke it up while cooking it so it was more crumbly like ground beef.

IMG_0754

Once the sausage was no longer pink I added the chopped onion and pepper and 2 T. of White Wine. I cooked the sausage with Olive Oil Pam instead of Olive oil to save a few calories , but you can use either. Once the onions were clear I put it aside to cool.

IMG_0756

Once cooled I took one egg , 1 T. of Fat Free Grated Parmesan Cheese, salt and pepper and beat it gently , then added it to the cooled meat and veggies.

IMG_0757

Then I hollowed out my Zucchini with a small spoon , making them into little boats to hold my meat mixture.

IMG_0758

Then I assembled them ! I added a little Reduced Fat Cheddar Cheese sprinkled on top , because it was all I had. Shredded Mozzarella Cheese would probably be even better though ! I poured about 1/4 of an inch of water into the bottom of the baking dish and baked them at 375 degrees for 40 min. Viola ! Dinner for tonight and lunch for this week !

If Matt hadn’t called in today and decided to join me, I had  planned a big surprise for him when he got home today.

IMG_0709

Remember this picture from yesterday ? This is our backyard. We were so beat from all the work we did in the front yesterday, we decided to leave the back until next weekend. Matt was going to try to do some during the week when he got home from work too. I had planned to work on it today and surprise him when he got home with a clean back yard ! Well, things didn’t turn out as planned , but I was determined that, since he painted the bedroom, I was going to do the leaves in the backyard !

IMG_0763

I got out there about 11:30 and worked until about 3:00 , taking time out for some lunch. Matt came out a few times saying he felt guilty about me doing all the work , but I sent him right back inside. I was determined to do this, and do it by myself !

IMG_0765

Here is the end result ! I did it ! It was a great workout, I can feel it in every muscle in my body , between the raking and the lugging of the piles of leaves. I also had a chance to get some thinking done while I was working. Sort  out a few things out in my mind. I always think better when I am doing tasks that don’t take a lot of thought but keep your hands /body busy.

IMG_0761

After working for about an hour I decided to take a break for some lunch. I had 2 slices of left over Pizza from Saturday night and a soda. Isn’t it weird how everything tastes better when you eat it outdoors. For me anyway. It was nice to sit out there on an Indian Summer day and enjoy the warmth and sun while it lasts!

IMG_0767

After a hot shower and some relaxing I started dinner. I made some couscous and heated up my Zucchini Boat . It was really good ! The Turkey sausage , onions and peppers were an excellent compliment to the zucchini . I will be making these again for sure ! Maybe try some other combinations to stuff them with too . I am really proud of them as well as the pizza I put together on Saturday night. Before I started this weight loss journey I hardly cooked at all , let alone trying new recipes and changing them around to make them fewer calories !

IMG_0768

For dessert tonight I had 1/4 C. of chocolate covered raisins. Perfect ending to a pretty great day !

Tomorrow I am back to reality. I guess mental health days wouldn’t be so much fun to take if you took them everyday ! At least I had a good day, I got a lot accomplished and I feel good about it ! Have a great night !

7 Responses to “Mental Health Day”

  1. syl said

    good for you Susan it sounds like a perfect day! Hope you have a good day tomorrow.

  2. Foodie Girl said

    That’s a fantastic idea! The food you cook always looks great. I need to do a better job of posting my food pictures. I love to cook. It’s even more fun when you have someone to cook with and enjoy the food with.

    Great job on the yard! It looks fantastic! I bet that was a good workout.

  3. Tiffany said

    The zucchini boats look really good. Thanks for the idea.

    Sounds like a really good day. I think mental health days are a must. I truly believe that they make you more motivated to work when you return because you feel better rested.

  4. i had a “mental health” day today too. but i wasn’t quite as productive!

  5. Missy said

    LOVE a good mental health day. Glad you were able to do that for yourself. And get a great work-out raking up all those leaves.

  6. Heidi said

    WOW, that was alot of leaves. Sometimes it’s nice to have mindless tasks like that so you can just … think. Glad you enjoyed your day.

  7. Annie said

    Holy cow those look good! I’m gonna make these this weekend!

    Sounds like you had a fun day! lucky you!

Leave a Reply

 
