All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

An Early Day

Posted by Susan on November 13, 2009

My day began at 2:30 am ! I dragged myself out of bed and made tea, checked my e-mail, and started getting ready. I left my house at 4:15 am  and walked into a complete mess at 5:00 am.

After I straightened it out , ( an hour later) I was finally able to start the task I was there for in the first place ! Standing outside, in the freezing cold while one of the maintenance guys power washed 50 or so wheelchairs , so I could  dry them all off and run them back inside to where they belonged ! Hell ! After I finished , I felt like I’d already worked a full day ! But I didn’t and it was time to go off and do my usual work ! UGH !

IMG_0787

At 4:15 this morning , I had some oats with Go Lean Crunch and a T. of Chocolate Peanut Butter. I also had a banana on my commute to work.

IMG_0788

After my freezing cold morning’s work I was starving . I felt like I hadn’t eaten breakfast at all. I think the change in my routine messed me up. No workout , running around like a mad woman and feeling stressed probably didn’t help matters. I had a Special K Cereal Bar, and some almonds. I ended up also having a piece of toast and I broke into the emergency snack stash I keep in my purse ,and had yet another cereal bar !

IMG_0790

I left work around 1:30. I’d planned to eat my lunch at home instead of dragging it with me this morning. When I finally walked in the door I was too hungry to think about making something so I settled for a Vanilla Chobani yogurt with Pumpkin Granola.

I had pretty much decided as I was driving to work this morning that I would skip my workout for the next 2 days and just make them up on the weekend. When I got home and finished my lunch, I got to thinking. I needed to get the workout in. Just because life gets hectic, and my routine gets interrupted is no excuse to slack off. Plus my body really missed it this morning. I could feel it in my energy level, in my constant hunger and I could tell my body wasn’t happy ! I have been working out every day ( aside from my alarm clock mishaps and one week when my knee was bothering me) now for almost one year. It is something I am used to and getting to be a habit my body depends on as well as expects. I am not sure I stepped up to the plate because of my super dedication or because of guilt , but I did what I had to do … no excuses !

IMG_0794

So I laced up my sneakers ……………………………………….

IMG_0791

And got to work ! I did :

  • 30 min. HHIT on the Spin Bike
  • 30 min. Elliptical Program

I am really proud of myself for working out because for one thing I hate afternoon workouts , especially after work and also because I didn’t allow my change of routine become and excuse !

IMG_0796

I wasn’t in the mood to fuss with dinner, even though I felt a lot better after my workout . I decided to take the easy way out tonight . I made some Talapia  and heated up left over Mexican Rice  from last night and added a salad with some reduced fat cheddar and sunflower seeds . It was really good too !

IMG_0768

Dessert , again , simple and easy. The last of my chocolate covered raisins.

The day is starting to catch up with me , so I think it is time to hit the sack ! I have another early day tomorrow, so I best get as much rest as I can. I am so grateful it is Friday tomorrow !  Once again tomorrow I am going to shoot for an afternoon workout when I get out of work. Matt and I are also running out tomorrow night to pick out paint for the living room. I am not completely sure where I want to go with it, but I figure I will know it when I see it !

For now ……. It is time for bed ! Have a great one !

4 Responses to “An Early Day”

  1. Foodie Girl said

    Great job today! Good for you on the workout! I can’t wait to see the colors you pick out for the living room. Get some rest!

  2. syl said

    Great job taking yourself through that Susan, I know it’s easy to say I’ll do it tomorrow.

  3. Christine said

    I just ran into your blog today while looking for more inspiration to lose weight. I have slacked yesterday on working out and today I am not feelin gas motivated either… but after reading your blog I realized I need to get out there and do it either way!

    Good luck! 🙂

  4. Missy said

    I could not imagine getting up for work at 2:30 am.. I have a hard enough time getting up at 6:30!

    Hope you have a nice relaxing weekend scheduled.

Leave a Reply

 
