All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Rake And Bake Sunday

Posted by Susan on November 15, 2009

Today was the second annual Rake and Bake Sunday. My mother-in-law started this tradition because she needed help raking her yard. We [my husband and myself, and my sister-in-laws and their families] all work in the yard and in return my mother-in-law makes us lunch.

Matt and I arrived bright and early with rakes and leaf blower, ready to work. I treated the raking and hauling of leaves as if it were a workout ! The leaves were wet and heavy , thanks to the rain all day yesterday ! I worked for about 3 hours and I really pushed myself ! No breaks at all ! I could feel it in my arms , and my legs , even in my abs. I figure it was a good mix of cardio and strength training. I was really, REALLY sore and tired by the end of it !

The minute I walked in the door when I got home I got straight in the shower ! I was wet and dirty, and my entire body ached ! At least I know I will sleep well tonight. The combination of fresh air and hard work makes me sleep like a baby!

 

IMG_0855

This morning I got really creative with my breakfast . I knew I was in for an active day so I wanted something that would really fuel me and carry me through until lunch. I took an apple, cut it up into chunks and sprinkled some cinnamon and sugar on it and nuked it for 2 minutes. Then I made a serving of oats and put the baked apple on top and then added a 1/2 c. of Kashi Apple Orchard Granola. It was so good ! Like having Apple Crisp for breakfast !

 

IMG_0857

I also had a hard cooked egg so that I had some protein to balance it all out ! This breakfast kept me full for hours ! It was also tasty and warm, perfect for a Sunday morning !

 

IMG_0859

Around 1:00 both front and back yards of my mother-in-laws house was clear of leaves and we were all starving ! I have to admit , I over ate a bit ! I had a turkey  on a Portuguese Roll . I also had some potato chips and some potato salad. The plate is a little carb. loaded.

 

IMG_0862

I went back for more chips and a few meatballs .

 

IMG_0860

My brother-in-law Randy wanted to be part of this post. While I was taking pics of my plate he held out his plate to be photographed ! Randy is doing Atkins . He ate all protein for lunch.  He eats his carbs in the mornings, usually oatmeal. He’s lost  15-20lbs so far. He also eats a lot of raw veggies .

 

IMG_0863

Dessert was a splurge. I had one of everything  ……. a brownie, and M&M cookie , and a peanut butter cookie. I ended up having another one of each cookie by the time I left the table !

I am not sure what’s for dinner tonight …… I was going to skip it all together. I am not hungry after the huge lunch. If I have anything at all it will be light, more of a snack than a meal.

We finished the painting project for this weekend ………..

 

IMG_0874

IMG_0876

I chose a Taupe color because it ties in with all the colors in all the other rooms. We need a finer brush for some touch up  work around the doors, but all in all I am happy with the results.

 

IMG_0869

Next weekend we are working on the living room ! I can’t wait to get it done . Here are some before pics. It is a big room so we definitely have our work cut out for us !

 

IMG_0870

IMG_0871

We will be starting this room on Friday night. The paint is bought and ready to go, all we need is the time. The worst part of the job will be taking all the books off the book shelves ! But it will all be worth it in the end. I’ve been wanting to get these rooms done for a while now and will be so happy to have it all done before the start of the New year !

 

I am not sure what I will do tonight. I am pretty tired so I will probably go to bed and watch some TV until I get sleepy enough to sleep. I can’t believe the weekend is over already ! Hopefully this week will fly !

 

IMG_0877

I’ll leave you with the sunset ! This picture was taken off our back deck. The entire yard was pink ! It was beautiful ! Have a great night and a great start to a new week !

5 Responses to “Rake And Bake Sunday”

  1. Foodie Girl said

    Wow! The hallway looks fantastic! I can’t wait to see the living room when it is complete! Hope you had a great weekend! Looks and sounds like you had a great time with your family. I’m glad.

  2. Melissa said

    You are a redecorating diva!!!
    Great weekend. I’m jealous!

  3. Missy said

    What a fun tradition! I love it!

    You’re house is so cute and the colors you picked go well. Can’t wait to see the finished living room.

  4. Heidi said

    Beautiful sky! Your house is really coming together. You’ve chosen nice colors.

  5. syl said

    house looks great Susan, and after all that work you deserve two deserts!
    Hope you are having a great monday.

Leave a Reply

 
