All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

A Sore Monday

Posted by Susan on November 17, 2009

My body was really sore this morning from my Sunday Raking adventures ! I felt it in my hands especially ! The first thing I did when I got out of bed was take 3 Advil. Even though I was feeling like I got hit by a truck, I still wanted to get in my workout.

  • Monday Circuit Routine
  • 30 min. HIIT on the treadmill

I was dragging a little physically , but I didn’t want to start the day, especially a Monday without some sort of exercise. I think mentally , in order to pull me through the first day of the week, it is imperative !

I was in the mood for peanut butter this morning so I made a multigrain English Muffing with peanut butter and banana .

The day was slow and boring . I would rather a busy Monday because it passes much quicker. It seemed to take forever for lunch time to roll around.

The Holiday goodies are already rolling in at work ! I couldn’t resist one of these to hold me over until lunch time ! It was really good , smooth and creamy …… and dark chocolate , some antioxidants , how could I pass it up ?

I can’t wait to get back our kitchen and fridge ! As much as I love yogurt and granola , I wouldn’t mind some more variety in my lunches ! For now, under the circumstances , it will have to do. Lunch today was Blueberry Chobani, pumpkin granola, and an apple.

Monday nights for me are a little different from the rest of the week.

My sister works late on Mondays , so I pick my niece, Kate up from school. I supervise homework, feed her dinner and give her a bath so when my sister picks up all she has to do is put Kate to bed.

I need something quick and easy on Monday nights since my time is limited. I also want something tasty ! This has become my go to dinner for Mondays ! I vary my quesadilla depending on what I have on hand. Tonight I had a tortilla, Kashi Fiery Fiesta Rice , re-fried beans, 2 oz. chicken breast, and reduced fat cheddar cheese. The Rice really makes this queadilla something special. The rice is whole grain, and is spicy,  and has black beans and corn in it.  The added rice gives the whole thing a very authentic flavor.

Dessert tonight was Oreo Cookie Cakes and a glass of milk. I know that many people don’t believe in 100 calorie snacks. personally , I don’t think anyone should live on them, eating them instead of fruits , nuts and other healthy snacks. On the other hand, I like the fact that they are portioned , and controlled , and easy. Once in a while , as a treat I don’t think they hurt. I am not too strict about my night time dessert anyway, any treat in moderation will do.

I am so glad I survived Monday. I find that once I make it past the first day , the remainder of the week goes much smoother. It’s like it is all down hill !

I am off to catch up on some blogs, read and go to bed. Hope everyone has a great night !

6 Responses to “A Sore Monday”

  1. Foodie Girl said

    I like those 100 calorie snacks for a sweet tooth moment. I love the oreo crisps! They are only 2 points and very yummy!

    The dinner looks fantastic! I can smell it from my computer screen.

  2. syl said

    So glad that Monday was ok for you Susan. Dinner looked yummy!

  3. Melissa said

    Your niece is pretty!! On that note, can I be your sister and you can do homework and get my kids ready for bed one night per week?

  4. Tiffany said

    I agree about the 100 calorie packs…they may not be the most nutritious but as long as you’re not eating them all the time, they are a good bet. It’s a lot easier to stop and the works already done for you.

    Quesadilla looks yummy!

  5. Missy said

    What a fun Monday night! Great you get to spend time with your niece!!

  6. i dont know what it is but since youve switched addresses I always forget the address!

    so…wow, you had a busy and delicious looking weekend!

    love, love, love the color!!!

    glad you figured out why things have been wonky with the scale!

Leave a Reply

 
