All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

It Wasn’t As Hard As I Thought. Is That Bad ???

Posted by Susan on November 20, 2009

This morning was surprisingly easy ! I slept an hour later than usual, and took my time getting ready, had a relaxing breakfast and drank my tea. I wasn’t anxious. I didn’t have the feeling that I was missing something. I was fine. I am not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing. Was it my body telling me thank-you , or my motivation slipping away ?The weirdest thing was , I woke up feeling sore ! Not crazy sore , like I couldn’t walk or raise my arms. Just a subtle soreness. Possibly it was my body recovering …….. I’d like t think so.

I’ve gone over my ” Exercise Bible” and I’ve already planned out my workouts for the next 4 weeks that will begin Monday. I am trying to keep in the front of my mind that this is a temporary vacation from exercise, so I don’t get too comfortable with it ! But I have to admit, this morning felt good. But so does a really great workout, so I guess it is a toss-up !

I’ve made the decision that , since Thanksgiving is in one week, I am going to try to stick to plan, no extras and lay off the treats ( aside from Sunday , that is going to be special !) I am going to do everything in my power to enjoy this holiday season without going overboard. I am determined to keep myself under control !

When I reached my goal weight in June, I remember thinking to myself that January 2010 would be the first  New Year were losing weight would NOT be one of my resolutions ! I think it has been on the top of my New Year promises to myself since I was a teenager ! ( and didn’t need to lose weight !) It is very important for me to get to the New Year at goal weight !

 

Breakfast this morning was a repeat of Sunday’s oatmeal concoction ! It was so good I just had to have it again ! Apple nuked with cinnamon and sugar added to oatmeal , and apple granola ! It is heaven ! And it keeps me satisfied for hours. I added a hard cooked egg on the side for protein , and that helped balance out the meal   so that it stuck with me for a while .

 

I’ve been noticing that when I don’t eat enough during the day , the urge to snack before bed is unbearable ! I actually whitened my teeth [with white strips] last night to keep me from eating something I shouldn’t !  Because of that I put back an AM snack with both protein and carbs. I had a banana and some almonds to carry me through until lunchtime.

 

I bought this a while ago and forgot about them. I thought  , since I was bored with yogurt and I needed something simple because of the kitchen situation at work, this would be a perfect change of pace ! Fat Free Tuna Salad with whole grain crackers. It was pretty good ! I would buy them again to have in a pinch. I also had an apple with it.

 

Tonight I was feeling ambitious with dinner. I made another batch of Zucchini Boats ! Since I’d already made them once , it didn’t take long at all to get them assembled and into the oven . while they cooked I made Matt’s lunch for tomorrow and took a shower . They were awesome ! I am going to try another variation of them sometimes soon. There are so many ways you can switch up this basic recipe . I love the fact that one boat is a complete meal unto itself !

 

For dessert tonight , I had a Diet 7 up cup cake and a glass of Fat Free Milk.

That’s it for tonight ! The plan is to catch up on some blogs , brush my teeth and read until I fall asleep ! Boring ? Yes. But it keeps me from picking at little things so I guess I will settle on boring ! Sleep well all !

10 Responses to “It Wasn’t As Hard As I Thought. Is That Bad ???”

  1. Beth said

    I have kind of wondered whether not eating enough during the day has contributed to being hungrier at night. I will have to do some experimenting.

  2. Melissa said

    I have been absolutely starving lately. Not sure if TOM is the problem, but it has been awful!

  3. Foodie Girl said

    I have noticed being hungry at night is a common theme with a lot of us. I wonder why that is. Perhaps with your extra snack during the day, it will help. Keep us posted.

  4. syl said

    Susan, I’m so happy to read that you are enjoying your down time, that’s so great, because if anyone deserves a break it’s you girl!
    xoxo

  5. MB said

    I’m sure you will be at your goal weight when the new year hits. You are such an inspiration and I’m so thankful for all the support you have given me. Thank you!

    Have a great weekend!

  6. Beth said

    Thank you for your note on my blog! I am beginning to see that I need not look at these slips as a sign that I can never succeed. That is a freeing realization, a real step in the right direction. BTW I love seeing pictures of your meals. It makes maintenance eating seem like not such a bad thing.

  7. Missy said

    How do you make those boats? They look good but I wouldn’t know where to start!

  8. Carmi said

    Your journey is inspiring. Your very personal experiences serve as a template for anyone who wants to change his/her life for the better. Your success is clearly well deserved!

  9. The zucchini boats look really good. I’ve never had anything like that before.

  10. Great looking food and congratulations on reaching your goal weight and maintaining!

Leave a Reply

 
