All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Just Another Manic Monday

Posted by Susan on December 1, 2009

Why is it that whenever I take a few extra days off, I always walk into a mess when I return to work ? I didn’t stop , except to eat all day long ! The only good thing about a day like today is that it flies by! I just try to think of it as extra exercise!

I got up this morning and had a great workout. As I mentioned , I’ve been doing a circuit routine I found in Oxygen Magazine a while back . I love it ! It is fast and I really feel it once I am done ! Whenever I find a routine that I think I may want to try, I add it to a huge 3 ring binder that I keep. I just punch holes in the pages and add it to my book. Since I change-up my routines every 4 weeks, I eventually get to them , and sometimes I will recycle the ones I especially liked year after year. I’ve been adding to this book for a while now , so I have quite a selection. I have enough workout routines right now that I can change-up once a month for over a year without doing the same workout twice ! And I am still adding to the book !

Here is today’s workout:

  • Free Weight Total Body Circuit ( from Oxygen Magazine)
  • 30 min. HIIT on the treadmill

I was running a little late this morning , so I brought my Magic Cookie to work with me today ! By the time I got to it I’d had 2 cups of Green Tea on an empty stomach …………… I was feeling a little bit queasy ! Once I  ate something I felt much better. I had a Breakfast Cookie, and a banana.

As I mentioned today was full of a lot of running around ! I definitely worked off my cookie !

At about 11:00 I was more thirsty than hungry , so I had a clementine. It did the trick and got my through until lunch.

Lunch today was great ! I had tuna  and baby spinach on a whole grain Sandwich Thin.

I also had some Humus and baby carrots on the side.

I am learning that if I eat something high in protein and high in fiber, in the same meal , I am not as hungry for a longer period of time after I eat. I am making it a point, especially at breakfast and lunch to make sure I have this protein/fiber combination so that I don’t feel the need to snack as much . I would love to get to the point where I am just eating 3 square meals a day, most days.

 

By the time dinner came around I was ready for it ! I had  Kate [niece] tonight so time is limited. I seem to always be in the mood for Mexican on Mondays ! Tonight was more of a burrito ! I used Fat Free Spicy Re-fried Beans, and Kashi Fiery Fiesta Rice, and Reduced Fat Sharp Cheddar Cheese on a tortilla. It was so filling , and  provided just the zesty Mexican flavor I was craving ! This is definitely one of my favorite meals ! I paired it with a baby spinach salad.

 

Dessert tonight, Mint Oreo Cookie Frozen Yogurt with a squirt of chocolate syrup and a plop of whipped cream ! Perfect ending to a crazy day ! I am impressed with the fact the this small scoop of  frozen yogurt is just enough. In the past this would be nothing ! I would fill this entire bowl , drown it in chocolate syrup and load on the whipped cream! That was the only way to eat it! Or so I thought. It feels good to enjoy something , but not have to do it in excess, and still be perfectly happy and satisfied with it. It feels liberating to know that I can enjoy something I love and not have it cancel out an entire day of good eating in the process !

 

I leave you this rainy Monday with a cute picture of Miss Zoey ! She is much better lately about having her picture taken. Usually she turns her head at the last-minute and ruins the shot ! I am off to bed early tonight. I had a typical Sunday night’s sleep last night! The only word I can think of to describe it is choppy! I would  sleep and wake up on and off all night long ! I need a really good night’s sleep tonight. I worked hard all day and I can really feel it about now !

Have a great night, stay warm , and sleep tight !

4 Responses to “Just Another Manic Monday”

  1. Melissa said

    Looks like a great day! I get the same effect from a fiber and protein combo. I love it!

  2. I am going to have to try that combo of baby carrots and hummus. I love both, so why not try it? Have a great night!

  3. syl said

    Love zoey! so cute!
    Glad you were able to end your day with some calm Susan.

  4. Missy said

    That quesadilla dinner always looks so good. I need to remember that one!

Leave a Reply

 
