All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

A Milestone

Posted by Susan on December 2, 2009

Six months ago today I reached my goal weight of 140 lbs. It was a huge day for me. It was a goal I had been working toward for what seemed like forever. My all time highest weight, when I got engaged in 2006 was 210 lbs. The same week I reached my goal weight, I bought my first pair of size 6 jeans. I was ecstatic! I was also terrified ! Dieting was the easy part. Move more, eat less, simple. But would I be able to keep it off? That was the question that plagued me! I knew how to diet, but I didn’t know how to maintain.

Statistically, 95% of people who lose a substantial amount of weight, gain it back [ and then some] within 5 years! That is scary. It was scary to me then , and it is scary to me now!

This morning I got on the scale to make it official. I am 140.4 lbs. after 6 months. I have maintained my goal weight! I couldn’t be happier! I know it is nowhere near the 5 year mark , but to me it is something big! It is half a year. I actually made it through half a year. Although I did a lot of panicking in the beginning, I’ve learned to relax a little , I’ve learned more about my body and it’s natural fluctuations in weight, and I’ve eaten dessert every single night along the way !

Don’t get me wrong, I am in no way getting cocky about maintenance . I still say it is harder than dieting in many ways. But I feel great knowing that it wasn’t impossible, and it wasn’t all that painful either. I am very happy with my progress so far , and I plan to keep it going :).

This morning I got up and worked out as usual:

  • Free Weight Total Body Circuit (x2)
  • 30 min. HIIT Treadmill

On my drive to work this morning I had a banana with my green tea. I am drinking a new brand of tea, and it must be stronger than the stuff I am used to because it really makes my stomach flippy! It’s weird. The banana helped a little though.

When I got to work I dug into my Breakfast Cookie. It is fast becoming my favorite meal of the day! I literally could eat them 3x a day and not get sick of them !

For lunch today I had some cottage cheese with an apple sliced up……………………

Some humus with baby carrots………………………….

And a clementine .

I had leftover sauce and meatballs from Sunday night for dinner with whole wheat pasta and fat-free parm. cheese. It was really filling , but I still wanted just a little taste of sweet.

I decided to have a handful of chocolate covered raisins and call it a day !

I didn’t get to bed as early as I would have liked to last night, so tonight I am hoping to make it an early night and get in some extra rest. Work has been so busy the past 3 days, and I feel like I really need extra sleep. Lately I walk into the place and wonder how I will make it through the day! Then I get busy and my energy level rises and I make it through!

Have a great night !

10 Responses to “A Milestone”

  1. Melissa said

    Congrats on hitting this milestone. You will be one of the 5%…I’m sure of it!

  2. Katie said

    That’s amazing lady!

    Congrats to you!

    New giveaway and workout music on my blog
    http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/

  3. syl said

    I’ve said it once, I’ve said it twice, I’ve said it a thousand times, SUSAN YOU ARE A SUCCESS STORY!
    congratulations!

  4. Beth said

    I am so thrilled to hear your maintenance success! I need to see people succeeding AFTER they reach goal.

  5. that is quite impressive! and i hear you about worrying about maintaining.

    i think for most of us here, we’ve all had great success losing and not so much maintaining. i’ve come to realize that losing is the easy part but maintaining is a whole different story.

    like Melissa said, I too think youll be one of the 5%!!

  6. Great job! I can’t wait to get there myself one day!

  7. Missy said

    I am not at all surprised that you’ve been able to maintain. You work-out like crazy and eat super healthy! You are an absolute inspiration. Keep up!!!

  8. Heidi said

    I remember when you started maintenance and how nervous you were. But I truly believe you will be one of the one’s who will maintain your loss throughout the years.

  9. Katie said

    That is such great stuff Susan! Woohooo! You will do it for the next 6 months and 6 months after that. Like Heidi, I remember you being concerned about it but here we are!

  10. bareitall said

    Congrats! Six months is definitely something to be proud of. You have made your lifestyle work and we can all see that it’s possible to do the hard work and then keep it in check. Yay Susan!!!

Leave a Reply

 
