All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

The Year In Review

Posted by Susan on December 11, 2009

This year has really flown by! I remember my Grandmother telling me when I was a kid that the older I got the faster the years would pass, and she really did know what she was talking about. Because the end of 2009 is so near, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about this year. A whole bunch of wonderful things have come out of it for me:

  • I FINALLY got down to my goal weight [June] after working toward it for 8 years. I had a lot of starts and stops. I learned a lot of lessons the hard way. But in the end I finally figured out what worked best for me. I discovered HIIT and Circuit Training, which changed everything for me. Because of them I was able to achieve the changes in my body that I’d wanted all along. I also stopped all the crazy diets and started eating like a normal person. I tracked every single thing the passed my lips and I kept track of my calories. All of my discoveries spelled success for me.
  • I broadened my food horizons. I started eating vegetables, which I thought I hated. This lead me to try all sorts of things I thought I hated and found, to my surprise, I didn’t hate these things at all [anymore at least].
  • I started cooking. I started following recipes, and then experimenting with recipes , making them healthier and lower in calorie. This allowed me to enjoy things I loved and not have to blow my diet in the process.
  • I renewed my long lost love of shopping. In my 20’s it was my favorite thing to do. I loved clothes and bought them every chance I got. Once the weight started piling on, I pretty much stuck to the same few articles of clothing that best hid my rolls and told myself that I would buy new things when I lost the weight. I spent 8 years telling myself that.
  • I fit into a size 6 for the first time in my life ! Even in High School , the smallest size I ever wore was an 8. The shopping trip I bought my first pair of size 6 jeans was the happiest, most exciting thing that happened to me all year! I felt so accomplished. It was payment for all the hard work I put into my weight loss goal.
  • I started looking at every physical task in my day as a workout. Chores around the house, yard work, running around like a maniac at work, all are considered a way to burn more calories, instead of the drudgery I always thought of them as.
  • I got myself accustomed to 3 meals a day , most days. This is huge for me. I’ve wanted this for a while now, and it makes maintenance easier for me personally.
  • I’ve  succeeded in maintaining my weight and staying dedicated to a daily workout routine.
  • I’ve gotten to the point where my workout is just an accepted part of my day. I do it automatically , like taking a shower or brushing my teeth. I’ve turned it into a habit, and I do it every [scheduled]  day , no excuses.
  • I’ve discovered that I can do anything I set my mind to. That if I want something badly enough, and commit to it, anything is possible. That is a pretty great feeling.

I am in the process of mapping out my goals for the coming year. I am going into 2010 with  excitement. I have a new belief in myself, that I’ve never had before. When I get my New Year goals figured out and committed them to paper, I will share them.

What are your plans for the coming year? What goals will you set for yourself? How will you use the lessons learned this year to make the coming year the best year yet?

Most of the highlights of my year , as you can see, were weight loss related. But it is about so much more than that. When the weight finally comes off, because you worked hard , sacrificed, pushed yourself to do what you sometimes were not in the mood to do, there is a huge return. Not only in weighing loss , and wearing a smaller size, it is something that happens inside. So much more is lost than weight. Fears, feeling unsure of yourself, for some of us even sadness is lost, frustration, the feeling that your missing out on life. A renewed sense of self is gained and a new acceptance of who you are. There is also that wonderful knowledge that you made a commitment to yourself , and stuck by it.

These are the things that make doing the work it takes to get what you want worth while. It feels better than the compliments, better than any of the great things that come from getting the weight that has been weighing down your life off! My New Year wish for all my friend’s out there struggling is that you keep up the fight. And that you find the peace that is waiting for you at the end of this half of the journey !

OK, I am done being sappy. This time of year kind of gets me like that sometimes …… forgive me :).

On to my food :

Breakfast this morning was one of my beloved Breakfast Cookies ! Today I made it with oats, peanut butter, Fiber One cereal, chocolate chips, pecans, coconut, dried cranberries, and vanilla protein powder. It was delicious. I honestly can’t imagine any combination of add-ins that would not be ! All you need is a little imagination and the sky’s the limit with these babies! OH, and I also had a banana [not shown]  and some green tea on my commute to work.

Today was a spinach kind of day ….. you’ll see what I mean after you check out my lunch and dinner. Lunch today was something I was inspired by another blog I read. I had a wrap that I spread a Laughing Cow Cheese wedge on and then piled on a handful of baby spinach , then I wrapped it up in the wrap. It was so good. I was surprised really, it seems so simple but the spinach and LC Cheese are a great combination. I think you can spread Laughing Cow on anything and it would taste good, though ! I had some baby carrots with my wrap.

For dessert I had a clementine and a 100 calorie Hershey Bar.

Dinner tonight was a spinach and reduced fat cheddar omelet , with a whole wheat English muffin and a spinach salad on the side [ told you it was a spinach day].

I love breakfast for dinner sometimes. It’s something my Mom did often when we were growing up. It is not only one of my favorite things to do for dinner, it’s also a sort of comfort food thing. Anything that brings back memories of childhood is like that for me. Of course I NEVER ate spinach in those days !

Dessert tonight was some chocolate covered raisins.

I can hardly believe tomorrow is Friday! My Favorite day of the week, for sure! I hope everyone has a great one !


3 Responses to “The Year In Review”

  1. Beth said

    Susan, is the basic recipe for the breakfast cookie somewhere in your blog? I know I would love it.

  2. Missy said

    Glad you had such a great, successful year! I feel like I learned so much in 2009 and now it’s time to kick it into high gear in 2010!

  3. *What are your plans for the coming year?

    My plans are to continue this journey. I am also planning a trip to California for 10 days.

    *What goals will you set for yourself?

    My goals are to try and lose 100 pounds by December 31, 2010. I will then only be about 20 pounds from my goal weight. I would love to celebrate that in 2011.

    Another goal I have is to run a 5K by the end of the summer and do another one by the end of the year.

    One last goal would be to meet some of these great blogging friends of mine!

    *How will you use the lessons learned this year to make the coming year the best year yet?

    I have learned lots this year. Community and friendship are priceless. The support from the online community and the friendships I have made will only grow stronger and continue into the following year. This will indeed help me in my journey.

    There you go! Hope you have a fantastic week!

Leave a Reply

 
