All Things In Moderation

…….. and moderation in all things .

Happy Day

Posted by Susan on December 13, 2009

I am really happy today. I am not really sure why. Nothing special has happened to me, no great news, no great plans on the horizon. I am just feeling contentment.

Last night was heaven. Well, my idea of it anyway. I am really not into partying, or going out. I was once. In my 20’s I was never home and if I was, I would consider the night a complete waste! These days I am a complete homebody in every way.

The perfect night consisted of a hot shower, comfy,warm pajamas, a cup of hot tea, and the TV remote. Then, about 10:00 both Matt and I were in bed, reading and then sleep! Can you tell I am a boring old woman? Oh well, it works for me!

This morning we got up and made a trip to Target early before the crowds. Then we went food shopping for the week. When we got home, I did some chores. I got everything ready for the week. I made some chicken breasts, put together snacks for Matt’s lunches, made both of our lunches for tomorrow and my Breakfast Cookie for tomorrow morning.

All of that was done by noon!!!! After that I was FREE for the rest of the day!!!! I lit some candles, turned on the Christmas tree lights, and hunkered down to watch TV for the rest of the day !!!!!

For the first time in many years I am actually looking forward to the [swiftly] upcoming holiday. I lost my mother right before Christmas, so for a long time it tainted my feeling toward the season. Then the kids [nieces and nephew] came along and I felt I needed to go through the motions for them, but I never really felt in the spirit.

This year though, after 13 years, I finally feel able to put everything in perspective, and appreciate the family I have and the time spent around them. I wish that she was here, but I also know that she would NOT want me to spend every Christmas missing her, she would absolutely want me to be happy. This year , I think I am finally at a place where I am at peace with my loss and accept that it is time move forward, understanding that in doing this, I don’t love her or miss her any less. Coming to that place makes me feel a lot less overwhelmed.

Maybe this revelation is contributing to my feelings of contentment today. I am just glad to finally be looking forward , instead of backward! Life is full of ups and downs, some knock you a bit harder than others. When You finally recover from them, the load off your shoulders is incredible!

On to food:

By the time Matt and I got home from our errands, it was close to 11:00, so I was definitely ready for some breakfast! I had a Breakfast Cookie and a cup of tea. Today’s cookie :

  • Oats
  • dried cranberries
  • peanut butter
  • chocolate chips
  • vanilla protein powder
  • Go Lean Crunch
  • pecans
  • coconut

It was delicious, and I was too full to have lunch at my normal hour.

Around 2:30 I figured I’d better eat something. I toasted a bagel and a wedge of Laughing Cow Cheese spread on it. And another cup of tea.

I spent the rest of the day catching up on episodes of  Tough Love, Jersey Shore,The Hills, Celebrity Rehab, and any other trashy TV I could find ! I hate to admit it, but I love all that bad reality TV! It is my guilty pleasure!

While watching TV, I snacked on a few of these. I try not to snack between meals, but I was in the mood for something salty and crunchy, and these did the trick and got me through until dinner.

Dinner tonight was FABULOUS ! I had a chicken breast on a bed of Parmesan Cheese flavored couscous. I could eat couscous every day , I love it that much . This flavor was especially great. I could have eaten an entire pot full……..good thing I made only one portion!

I had a small spinach salad with it.

For dessert tonight , I dipped into our Christmas cookie stash [I put them downstairs in our freezer]. I has a sugar cookie and 2 peanut butter cookie along with a cold glass of milk! Perfect!

I can’t believe how quickly my relaxing weekend passed :(. The coming week is going to be stressed filled. We have been expecting a state inspection now for months at work. It is always a tension filled week, and I am not looking forward to it! Hopefully it won’t be as bad as I am expecting. At any rate, I am going to try to get a good night’s sleep tonight , so I can get in a good workout in the morning and be ready for anything tomorrow!

On the bright side, once this week comes to an end we will be Really close to the Holiday! That means time off, friends, family, and celebrating! Something to look forward as I muddle through the tough week ahead!

I am all TV’d  out, so I am off to read before hitting the sack early! Have a great night!

2 Responses to “Happy Day”

  1. bareitall said

    Hi Susan. THank you for your kind words on my blog. It’s really nice to come back to them and remember the big picture of why I became a teacher. 🙂

    I’m glad that you are having such a nice weekend. The coming weeks ahead can be so crazy and finding that balance of relaxation is so nice.

    I too lost my mom and holidays are the toughest times. YOu have a great perspective and I’m sure it’s exactly how she would want it to be…enjoying yourself and your family.

  2. Katie said

    Good looking breakfast cookie!

    New music, food, fitness + giveaways – http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/

    Come visit! Happy MONDAY FUNDAY!

    Katie

Leave a Reply

 
